Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This belongs in a cookbook! It was really easy and so good. I added some extra cayenne and used crumbled bacon instead of the ham. I think next time I might add an extra can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Yummy yummy!! I do use brown sugar instead of white sugar and a little less, and also I use 1/2 white 1/2 wheat flour. Terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I've been searching for a black bean soup recipe and I've found it! This is delicious. I didn't add the ham simply b/c I didn't have any, but it was great without it. Good flavor and easy to make. My search has ended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I use lots of lime juice and ancho chili powder. This makes a great quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Not quite as fast as I was hoping, but didn't take forever, either. Good flavor. Nice balance. Carrots an interesting addition I wouldn't have thought about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
First time I've made this soup and it was well received. The version made was slightly different than the original recipe. A green chile (de-seeded and chopped) was added with the other vegetables. Vegetable broth replaced chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Tasted great with homemade cornbread and was even better the next day! I didn't bother putting the beans in the food processor. I just used my submersion blender until I got the consistency I wanted. I also added a little cayenne pepper to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savanah Orlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was really good. I did add more cumin, 1/4 t. didn't seem like enough. I added approx 1/2-I didn't measure =) I think I would add less ham next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very good basic black bean soup. I skipped the ham and doubled the cumin and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Muy delicioso! This was a great recipe for a nice, Fall evening. I omitted the bell pepper (hubby doesn't like 'em) and substituted cumin & garlic powder seasoned, bite size chicken for the ham. Also, I didn't have any sour cream to garnish the soup, but it actually didn't need it and I don't need the extra calories ;o) The fresh cilantro and regular tortilla chips as the topping was good enough for me! Will definitely make the recipe again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States