Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I have been searching for a black bean recipe that tastes authentic without a lot of effort. Although, there are many recipes that claim to be authentic they are very involved without the results. This recipe (IMO without the ham) has it all, you can use this recipe or modify to your taste. After trying many recipes, this is going to be my mainstay. I did double the cumin, used about 1/2c ham (because that is all I had), and about 2 teaspoons of vinegar at the end. WE LOVED IT!! Thank you sooo much for posting. We served over yellow rice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
If made just as the directions suggest, it is absolutely delicious, but if time permits, try different suggestions if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newlywedchef08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Delicious! This was a great way to use up all the extra ham from Easter. I followed the recipe exactly except for squeezing some lime juice on top and it turned out soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hamtown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This belongs in a cookbook! It was really easy and so good. I added some extra cayenne and used crumbled bacon instead of the ham. I think next time I might add an extra can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Yummy yummy!! I do use brown sugar instead of white sugar and a little less, and also I use 1/2 white 1/2 wheat flour. Terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I've been searching for a black bean soup recipe and I've found it! This is delicious. I didn't add the ham simply b/c I didn't have any, but it was great without it. Good flavor and easy to make. My search has ended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I use lots of lime juice and ancho chili powder. This makes a great quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Not quite as fast as I was hoping, but didn't take forever, either. Good flavor. Nice balance. Carrots an interesting addition I wouldn't have thought about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
First time I've made this soup and it was well received. The version made was slightly different than the original recipe. A green chile (de-seeded and chopped) was added with the other vegetables. Vegetable broth replaced chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Tasted great with homemade cornbread and was even better the next day! I didn't bother putting the beans in the food processor. I just used my submersion blender until I got the consistency I wanted. I also added a little cayenne pepper to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States