Fast Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I'm the baker in the house, but my hubby is rice pudding master. He has a recipe from his grama that takes 1/2day to make in the oven and includes a yummy custard topping- the hrs of prep and wait are TOTALLY worth it. But 10pm last night we were craving rice pudding so i jumped over here and found this. I'm not so crazy to think the results of 15min pudding can come NEAR grama M's recipe, BUT, this wasn't bad for what it is. I didn't read reviews before making but already knew 1TBS of cinn WAY too much. cut that in half to begin with. cinn on it's own is 1-dimentional for me, i think nutmeg would have helped expand the flavor, will try 1/4 t next time. I also knew it needed vanilla by tasting as i mixed, I used about 1TBS. I did end up using the full 1/2c sugar with the 1 can cond. milk, but added the sugar gradually and figured since we were missing custard i'd make it a lil sweeter than it need be, but could have stopped at 1/4 or 1/3c. the rice i used wasnt leftover, i microwaved 2c instant and let it stand for 10mins before adding it hot to saucepan of roomtemp milk on med-high heat and continuosly stirred. By the time it was oatmeal consistency i took it off the burner, maybe 10-12 mins on elec stovetop? i think it does need egg which would need to go in 1st before rice, will try next time. Texture of this was a bit chewy/grainy (prob my instant rice method didnt help) but for about 20 mins of work this satisfied a craving. Thanks for sharing, its a good start point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Ok I have never made rice pudding before only bought it from the grocery store or at a restaurant. We have left over rice hanging around at least once a week so I thought I would try it. The only change I made was someone else's idea to use vanilla and add nutmeg. Also as another reviewer pointed out it needs to cook more than 7 min to thicken, mine took around 12min. For taste it was a great after dinner dessert that I will add raisins too next time !??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabel Sunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This would really be good with less sugar. It was way too sweet. I tried mine with vanilla instead of cinnamon and just sprinkled it on in the end. Mine took forever to thicken. I think I put on low for 20+ minutes until I read another review that said to keep on medium continually stirring did it finally thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Patterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I will definitely cut the cinnamon in half next time I make this. Plus I added vanilla after I took it off the heat. Otherwise, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was FANTASTIC! I made a few changes.... I added raisins, 1 tbsp of vanilla and one egg.... But even before doing any of that the base for this recipe is perfect! This made 6 generous servings and was an absolutely hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This recipe was good, not great. I triple-checked the amount of cinnamon because it was just too much for my taste. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Despite following the recipe as is, it never thickened up. The flavor tasted like rice in sweet cinnamon milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Enjoyed it very much! My friend LOVES rice pudding and he says it's a 9 out of 10. I didn't have 2 cups of rice; so I halved the recipe and it was a success! I added raisins to my portion only and just stirred them into the pudding in the custard dish. I think if I add raisins again, I may cut back on the sugar by a bit. I also added a touch of vanilla. Will definitely make this again! Thank you for sharing your yummy quick & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was very good and easy! I did not use a TBLS of cinnamon only 1 tsp and I did add 1 tsp vanilla at the end. No problems with the time as every stove is different, after it was boiling it was reduced to low and covered, about 5-9 minutes, stirring every couple of minutes. I used long grain rice which was a few days old in the refrigerator and it made 5 little dessert cups. This was a great way to make use of leftovers with very few ingredients. I am keeping this one! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I'm sorry, but this is NOT edible with 1 tablespoon of cinnamon. I will try it one more time using 1 teaspoon or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lona E Roper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States