Fast Creamy Tomato Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This recipe is super flexible and awesome. I just made it with my own spaghetti sauce rather than use a jar, added half an onion and a whole bell pepper. It tastes great, I will gladly make this again, playing with different meat options. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was great, quick and easy like promised even with my added ingredients. Like some of the others, I used Hot Italian Sausage instead of ground pork (because it looked better). With the vegetables, I also added shallots, some garlic cloves, some sage. Also, instead of using sour cream, I used Ricotta cheese and mixed that in with the pasta sauce. I mixed it all together and then put it in a baking dish and covered it with mozzarella cheese (big cheese fan here). Kept it in long enough to melt and voila! Amazing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is easy, fast and delicious. My 5 year old grandson liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was ok, but I make something similar to this that we prefer. For the sauce I melt an 8 oz package of cream cheese into a jar of spaghetti sauce (homemade--but store bought would be fine) and if needed thin out the sauce with some of the pasta water . I also use Italian sausage instead of just ground pork and just put the onion and peppers in with the meat to give it more flavor instead of sauteing them separately. I also add minced garlic or some garlic paste for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colton, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is to me spaghetti sauce and sour cream. Want to make this recipe really good, add half a package of CREAM CHEESE instead, it melts into the tomato sauce beautifully and gives a better flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was so yummy! Thank you, RwnMayfair for the casserole suggestion.. it was perfect! I love to be able to get a dinner in the oven and get it cleaned up before I eat! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Delicious. I used 3 cheese spaghetti sauce and mixed with the ground pork and sour cream, the flavor was wonderful. My 23 month old son asked for seconds and thirds and fourths! A new family dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This recipe really depends on the type of pasta sauce you use. Make sure you use one with some extra flavour, herbs and spices going on and a thicker, more tomatoey sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was tasty but it didn't stick out in my mind. I added a box of frozen spinach that was thawed & didn't measure the tomato sauce, I just dumped it in till the consistency was right. May or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very good, and lends itself easily to substitutions. I omitted the bell pepper, and added more onion. I also added approx. 2c spinach while I was sauteeing the onions, and some crushed red pepper when I added the spaghetti sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States