Fast Creamy Tomato Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I only had a little time to prepare something for dinner and didn't want to resort to ordering out. I had some of my homemade spaghetti sauce in the fridge and wanted to use that in something. This worked perfectly. It was quick and delicious. I cut up some leftover grilled Italian sausage for the meat. Also, I used lite sour cream and added some red pepper flakes. DH said this was, "Da Bomb!" I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My family really enjoyed this. It is a form of lasagna to me. I did make a few changes. I had a 14 oz jar of pizza sauce that I mixed with the spaghetti sauce. I also added 3 cloves (minced) of garlic with the onion and butter. I had no green pepper on hand. The garlic really added flavor. And I did not have pork so I used ground beef. I also added some oregano and garlic powder for more italian flavoring. (I had no italian seasoning on hand.) I added mozzerella and parmesan towards the end. It was easy, flavorful, delicious, and makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
this wet over well with my family very fast and simple to prepare I did use ground beef instead of pork turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This recipe is super flexible and awesome. I just made it with my own spaghetti sauce rather than use a jar, added half an onion and a whole bell pepper. It tastes great, I will gladly make this again, playing with different meat options. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was great, quick and easy like promised even with my added ingredients. Like some of the others, I used Hot Italian Sausage instead of ground pork (because it looked better). With the vegetables, I also added shallots, some garlic cloves, some sage. Also, instead of using sour cream, I used Ricotta cheese and mixed that in with the pasta sauce. I mixed it all together and then put it in a baking dish and covered it with mozzarella cheese (big cheese fan here). Kept it in long enough to melt and voila! Amazing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is easy, fast and delicious. My 5 year old grandson liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was ok, but I make something similar to this that we prefer. For the sauce I melt an 8 oz package of cream cheese into a jar of spaghetti sauce (homemade--but store bought would be fine) and if needed thin out the sauce with some of the pasta water . I also use Italian sausage instead of just ground pork and just put the onion and peppers in with the meat to give it more flavor instead of sauteing them separately. I also add minced garlic or some garlic paste for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colton, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is to me spaghetti sauce and sour cream. Want to make this recipe really good, add half a package of CREAM CHEESE instead, it melts into the tomato sauce beautifully and gives a better flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was so yummy! Thank you, RwnMayfair for the casserole suggestion.. it was perfect! I love to be able to get a dinner in the oven and get it cleaned up before I eat! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Delicious. I used 3 cheese spaghetti sauce and mixed with the ground pork and sour cream, the flavor was wonderful. My 23 month old son asked for seconds and thirds and fourths! A new family dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States