Fast Chicken Soup Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by A-Kube
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Recipe was all good except for the oil. I used some turkey that I had previously smoked. And good thing I omitted the oil. For me and my family it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-Kube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I buy thighs only, skins on. I simmer them in water to cover, a stalk or two of celery and some sprigs of fresh rosemary and salt. I then remove the chicken and spent veggies from the pot and let the thighs cool. I add them to the stock later. The meat just falls off the bone. I then toss in some frozen veggies...whatever tickles your fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Best chicken soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was fantastic! I made it pretty much according to the recipe, although I probably used more carrots and celery. I didn't measure. I didn't used water because i like it strong. I'm using 2 48oz broth boxes. And I forgot to add noodles. It was so good I didn't realize it until I went back for seconds and saw the bag sitting next to the stove. Oh well, next time. It's the first chicken soup recipe I've tried, and this is exactly what I wanted. 2nd time - I added about a tsp of black pepper and about 1/2 tsp white pepper, still no noodles. Next time I think I'll simmer the bones longer and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I wasn't sure what was meant by the word Base in this recipe. I made it exactly by the recipe and all I added was a cup of pasta stars. It was the best homemade chicken soup I have ever made. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I love this recipe also. Felt a cold/flu coming on yesterday. Had some in the freezer, heated it, sprinkled finely chopped garlic on top. Felt much better! The flavor is amazing w/out garlic on top...this was put on for it's anti-bacterial properties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this soup tonight on a chilly fall evening. Followed the recipe exactly and just added egg noodles at the end. Boiling the bones and skin gives it a delicious flavor. This is a new standard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I use this all the time. Only differences, I add mushrooms to the onin, celery, carrot, and include sage, bay leaf, (and at the end, parsley). I also lightly carmelize all of the veggies, starting with the onion. Then, by the time I lightly carmelize the carrots (added last), the other veggies really have carmelized, making a dark, flavorful broth. I buy the frozen Resen noodles to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
SO delicious and easy!! Being able to use a roast chicken makes it so quick. This is my sons favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortey0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Very clever shortcut. I thought it was a little bland though... I added a bag of frozen peas and carrots to it and added some egg noodles. Not bad, just a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States