Fast Apple Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Awesome! I added 1/4 cup flour and 1 Tbsp corn starch like everybody else did, and it was still a little watery, but OMG the taste is out of this world! Sweet, tart, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
My husband and son really liked it. I think next time I won't use the food processor for chopping, the filling cooked too soft for me; I like texture in my fruit pies. I used reviewer pamjlee's crumb topping. I doubled the topping since there was enough filling for two pies. I was a little nervous because the topping spread so much, but it set-up a little like an oatmeal cookie. I also used 1 1/2 T cornstarch instead of 1 T--simply because that's the measuring spoon I grabbed. I will likely make it again because the rest of the family liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is better than the traditional rhubarb strawberry pie. I added 2 tbsps. of flour to fruit as rhubarb tends to make a runny pie. Chopping apples was also a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
1. I am not a pro pie maker. and i figured this recipe out. 2. This recipe needs a thickener. 3. This pie tastes phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This pie was very good indeed. The only changes I made were to add a little flour to fruit mixture. I think 440°F is a odd temperature and slightly too high. My pie was very dark after just 30 minutes, so either reduce the temperature slightly or keep a close eye on it and cover with foil when golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
It was okay. I added flour to the filling but other than that I followed the recipe. Maybe the apples I used were too tart for this recipe, my pie was just too tart overall. I don't think apples and rhubarb are a great combination. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
If I could give it a lower score I would. It was just a heap of cold fruit when it went in and a heap of hot fruit when it came out. Might as well have eaten it raw. There was nothing pie-filling-y about this "pie." The apple rhubarb crumble on this site is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is delicious. Ironically, I'd bought rhubarb for a pie and after making one, didn't have enough for a second pie so I thought, "Maybe I'll add apples!" I threw everything together, baked it, and then happened to find this recipe which is exactly my own improvised recipe. I believe I had four stalks of rhubarb, and used three apples; six apples seems like it would really overfill the crust as my pie was piled quite high. I would recommend sprinkling minit tapioca on the bottom before adding filling, to absorb some liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This recipe is poorly written. The amounts are not clear, and a baking temperature of 440 doesn't seem right (my pie would definitely have burned if I hadn't turned the oven down twice). I used about 4 Granny Smith apples and no more than 2 cups of rhubarb and that was plenty. It tastes fine but if you are really looking for a good rhubarb pie, stick with the Strawberry/Rhubarb Crumb Pie on this site - it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States