Fast Apple Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is better than the traditional rhubarb strawberry pie. I added 2 tbsps. of flour to fruit as rhubarb tends to make a runny pie. Chopping apples was also a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
1. I am not a pro pie maker. and i figured this recipe out. 2. This recipe needs a thickener. 3. This pie tastes phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This pie was very good indeed. The only changes I made were to add a little flour to fruit mixture. I think 440°F is a odd temperature and slightly too high. My pie was very dark after just 30 minutes, so either reduce the temperature slightly or keep a close eye on it and cover with foil when golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
It was okay. I added flour to the filling but other than that I followed the recipe. Maybe the apples I used were too tart for this recipe, my pie was just too tart overall. I don't think apples and rhubarb are a great combination. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
If I could give it a lower score I would. It was just a heap of cold fruit when it went in and a heap of hot fruit when it came out. Might as well have eaten it raw. There was nothing pie-filling-y about this "pie." The apple rhubarb crumble on this site is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is delicious. Ironically, I'd bought rhubarb for a pie and after making one, didn't have enough for a second pie so I thought, "Maybe I'll add apples!" I threw everything together, baked it, and then happened to find this recipe which is exactly my own improvised recipe. I believe I had four stalks of rhubarb, and used three apples; six apples seems like it would really overfill the crust as my pie was piled quite high. I would recommend sprinkling minit tapioca on the bottom before adding filling, to absorb some liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This recipe is poorly written. The amounts are not clear, and a baking temperature of 440 doesn't seem right (my pie would definitely have burned if I hadn't turned the oven down twice). I used about 4 Granny Smith apples and no more than 2 cups of rhubarb and that was plenty. It tastes fine but if you are really looking for a good rhubarb pie, stick with the Strawberry/Rhubarb Crumb Pie on this site - it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This pie was good, but I would cut down on the apples and add more rhubarb. Also, not sure if it was suppose to be 3 stalks of rhubarb or 3c rhubarb. I used 3c. of rhubarb and it still wasn't enough. I took others advice and added 1/4c. flour, but I felt like it was too much. Other than that, it was very easy to make and still tasted good, just not a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This recipe definitely does not work. There were so many things that went wrong. 1) the amount of apple and rhubarb used for the filling is just way too much for the pie crust. I still had a 1/4 to 1/3 of the filling remaining even after using a deep pie pan and piling the topping high. 2) the pie came out extrememly watery on the inside Not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States