Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt (Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I tried this recipe with fresh green beans. I cut them up and soaked them for 5 minutes in salt water, then followed the recipe as advised. It was great! I served it as a side dish to pork chops and pasta! Would definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These were the most delicious green beans I've ever had! Took them to our family Thanksgiving potluck in which I was in charge of vegetable side dishes. Made these, and others from Allrecipes: the feta-bacon green beans (not so good) and the roasted brussel sprouts (awesome) The only change I made was to use fresh green beans, about 1 lb, which I partially cooked in the microwave for about 5 mins first w/a bit of water, then I drained and proceeded w/the recipe, just sort of stir frying them w/the oil, garlic and adding the cilantro at the end, after the beans had gotten nice and dark. Not a pretty recipe, but so delicious. Never would have thought of cilantro and green beans together, but was absolutely delicious --I couldn't get enough of them, and they were excellent reheated the next day in the microwave! Will DEFINITELY add these to my veg. side dish favorites. Such simple ingredients and preparation, but a wonderfully complex flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This has become my favorite way to prepare green beans. I was amazed at how big an impact the cilantro had on the end result I think I even use close to half cup of cilantro. I try to be careful with the oil, because I don't like me beans very oily. I also like to turn the heat up a little the last few minutes and brown the beans slightly. Make sure to keep stirring if you turn the heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesolsbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Etowah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Excellent, light, tasty and easy recipe! i Don't usually like green beans, but Loved these! Served with filet mignon-- great combination. Cilantro gives perfect accent! Thank you Tasneem! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
What a delicious recipe! Something about the oil does a wonderful thing to the beans. Don't mistake this for any ol' green bean recipe. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Very good! I like this method of making green beans. I would suggest a lower "medium high" for the heat, though. **EDIT** I love this way of making green beans so much now that I hardly ever make them any other way. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOCCERPLAYR9999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I've been making these for about five years now, and have never written a review. This is a great recipe. Delicious just as is, but I usually add a touch more garlic to my personal taste. Yum! Try it- you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Great recipe! The only thing I did differently from the recipe is that I cut way back on the olive oil and drizzled just a little over the beans before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This met both of my criteria for a 5 star recipe...simple and delicious! My husband is Lebanese and we make something similar with fresh green beans but there are onions and tomato paste in it too. I think that I could add those to this recipe if I wanted and it would be just as delicious! This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
So simple yet delicious and flavorful. I served this with chicken and rice. I was surprised by how many compliments I got on this dish. I even turned my cilantro-hating friend into a believer! Not only would I make this again but it's definitely going in my heavy rotation list of side dishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States