Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt (Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
These are delicious. I was able to make these ahead and heat them up for a dinner party. It's been several months since I've made these and now I'm craving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I suppose it was the interesting method that intrigued me. I'm not a green bean lover and have never prepared them from frozen but some family members are, so I thought I would give it a go. Few ingredients are required and really clear instructions are given in this recipe. The slight browning of the beans gives this dish the most interesting flavour and texture. If you are in the mood for something "outside the box" this will dazzle your taste buds. UPDATE - I have found the French cut style of frozen beans are the best to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
LUV IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I love this dish! I grew up eating this and a similar dish that also has tomatoes. I highly recommend this recipe. It is so good, it is hard to believe it is a veggie. Great with Kefta (or kufta; there is a good recipe on this site) and rice-a-roni! Maybe add some sliced tomatoes on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKELHOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
fantastic, use a little less oil next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This has become my favorite way to prepare green beans. I was amazed at how big an impact the cilantro had on the end result I think I even use close to half cup of cilantro. I try to be careful with the oil, because I don't like me beans very oily. I also like to turn the heat up a little the last few minutes and brown the beans slightly. Make sure to keep stirring if you turn the heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesolsbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Etowah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
What a delicious recipe! Something about the oil does a wonderful thing to the beans. Don't mistake this for any ol' green bean recipe. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Wow! I just ate a whole pound of green beans! I'm cooking ahead for the week, and these were supposed to go with a few lunches. Luckily I bought a double-sized bag of green beans! This recipe is awesome. Followed this recipe exactly. I think they taste slightly better room temperature (they didn't make them to the fridge to test how good they would taste cold). Thanks a lot, I'm going to make the rest of the beans right now, and clearly I'm going to be eating at least a pound of green beans every week now. And that's a great thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These are so different from your standard green beans. The browning makes them really wonderful. I could eat the whole batch by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Fabulous just the way it is. Even my teenager can't get enought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States