Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt (Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
fantastic! I finished mine with a squeeze of fresh lemon. Brings the cilantro out! I want this every day! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe. I used Trader Joe's garlic olive oil. I think it would be fine using a little less than the 1/4 cup called for. The more done (browner) the beans get, the better they are. Great cold the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
WOW! I've made these twice in the last week and eaten the enitre pound in one sitting! I love green beans, but this is by far my favorite recipe. Thanks Tasneem!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
These were good and I admit I cheated by using canned green beans. I would try them again with the frozen. I added the ingredients to taste, the amount I had, and to lower the calories a bit. I did 2 Tblsp of extra virgin olive oil, 2 cans of drained green beans, 1 minced clove of garlic, and about 1 Tblsp of fresh cilantro torn. I sauteed the beans until hot, removed from the burner, and then added the last 2 ingredients and let sit until the cilantro wilted. I would not have thought to put those 2 flavors in green beans. These are very garlicy, so just beware. The olive oil liquid would be good for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
We loved this. Wish I had had fresh cilantro, but even the dried made this dish so tasty. This is a very good way to make frozen green beans taste less watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Ok, I admit I had to change this. I love green beans but hate cilantro. But I thought the recipe sounded great for the beans and gave it a shot adding parsley and just a bit of basil. It was really good. I added the garlic a little earlier because I wanted it to cook a bit longer, and I think onions would be really nice in here, too. It's a keeper. I can't wait to try with my fresh green beans and herbs next summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I love this dish! My grandmother used to make it all the time. Thanks for reminding my of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAKARAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Simple and delicious! This also tastes better the next day, after the garlic has had a chance to fuse with the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My weekly green bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I've made this a few times now, and the family seems to enjoy this style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States