Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt (Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Made this for my Mom (who loves green beans) and she loved it. Though I've never eaten a green bean in my life I really liked this one. Mom has requested I make it for our next dinner together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
So goooood. I loved these. I didn't use fresh cilantro since I couldn't find any in the grocery stores around here so I used 1 T dried. My husband thought these were a little oily but he thinks that about everything. I added some garlic powder. I will be making these again & again. I'd love to try cooking more Syrian food. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
It could have been because I used frozen cilantro instead of fresh, but I thought that this recipe was lacking flavor. It was good but not as flavorful as I would have liked. Next time I would probably add a little salt, more garlic and try fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I cooked this tonight with some slight deviations from the original recipe. I used frozen baby green beans, a little extra garlic and since I didn't have fresh cilantro on hand, I used the dried stuff. I can only imagine how much better it would have been with the fresh cilantro. I usually like my veggies a little crisp, but decided to cook as directed, but not until brown and it was delicious. To accompany the green beans, I made garlic red potatoes and whole wheat pita bread 'fried' in a small amount of olive oil and butter. I'll definately be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Yum! These are the best green beans I've ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. The only thing I would do differently is use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
OMG. Seriously delicious, and insanely easy. EVERYONE at my dinner party raved about the beans. And the recipe's so quick, easy and CHEAP that it's insane. This is so becoming a staple for me. Delicious. The mixture of the fresh garlic and cilantro was incredible. The house smelt delicious. Oh, I also used less oil than called for. Just whatever amount I felt comfortable with. I ended up making more beans as I ate a lot of them before the dinner party--they were that good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
delicious! i would never have thought to add cilantro to green beens. cooking them untill their brown and carmelized is great too! i used frozen cubed cilantro instead of fresh and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
great recipe, but for a little change, try putting in a can of chopped tomatoes. It really sets off the great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
excellent, we had this with mediterrian lemon chicken from this site a great combnation, I love these green beans. a keeper thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States