Fasolatha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Loved this recipe. Used dried white kidney beans and it came out just as expected. I did chop my veggies and put them along with the spices in the oil first. I find that doing this opens up the flavor in the spices more and give a better finish to the soup. Will definitely be making this again. Oh, and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Yum. I made this in the crock pot--left it on high for about 4 hours, then turned it to low. Instead of water, I used chicken broth and also used cooked and frozen navy beans (don't have white kidney beans). This is a lovely veggie soup. Hubs didn't even complain that there wasn't any meat in it. I, too, doubled the spices and added garlic. I don't know how much olive oil I put in--I didn't measure, as usual, and just poured in what looked right. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is an awesome recipe, we've been making it for years now...thank you so much for posting it!! My kids and husband love it, and it freezes well too....I usually can't find white kidney beans, but I just throw in whatever kidney beans I have...if I have to cook them from dried, that works, or canned beans work well too. Lots of Parmesan cheese on top and it's a great meal any time of year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Alright, so I've had this in my recipe box for about six years, and figured it was a good time to try it out. I used cannellini beans, dried parsley, and pre-cut carrot "chips", as it's what was on hand. I omitted the salt (as always), added two extra celery stalks (I love celery), and used ketchup instead of tomato paste. I had the paste on hand, but it was a 12 ounce can. I wasn't going to open the can for 1 tablespoon required in this recipe. Oh, and I don't have thyme, so that wasn't included in this batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a very good soup. I made some changes based on other reviews. I started with 3 c. of water and one bouillon cube. Then I added the onion, carrots, celery, diced tomatoes, 2 Tbs. of tomato paste, oregano, thyme, parsley and olive oil. I omitted the salt because of the bouillon. Once all the vegetables were soft, I added one can of drained and rinsed cannelloni beans (white kidney beans) and 1/2 cup of alphabet pasta. The result was a very hearty soup. I was full after just one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Wow! This is incredible. Both in terms of ease and flavor. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Delicious the first time around...even better after sitting over night. I used canned white kidney beans. Didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried. Other than those two changes, I made it according to the recipe. Served it over rice. I will definitely make it again...the same way I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Soup was excellent. I had a similar homemade soup in Greece that I've been trying to recreate. I used canned italian butterbeans since they seemed to be closest to the ones i had. It was great. I heated up some lavash and dipped it in the soup... excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Very good ! VERY easy to make. I used canned beans (which shortened the cooking time, and didn't take away from the taste of the soup). Best part is I had everything I needed for this soup in my house already! I like to chop the carrots so they are smaller pieces - makes it seem more hearty. Served with some pita this is a very nice meal. Another really great addition to this (although I guess it makes it less traditional) is a cinnamon stick, but try it by the recipe first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States