Farro Salad with Asparagus and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made for a baby shower at church -- was a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was a big hit with my husband! I didn't soak the farro, but it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Excellent dish. Didn't change anything. Everyone in my family of 4 loved it. I would just suggest people divide the recipe in half if they have a small family. We ended up with tons of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
For the first time the other day I tried faro at a cooking demonstration. I had never heard of it. It kind of reminds me of brown rice, but softer and fluffier. I actually really like the taste. I found this recipe to test it and was surprised by the results. All of the ingredients were so super easy to throw together except the farro. My bag just says cook 30 minutes. This recipe says soak 12 hours and cook almost 1 hour. The wheat really has to be watched as the water either evaporated off or it soaks it up quickly. I am soaking my pot as I am writing this. So, I decided to do a half a recipe to test it. I used half the farro and mixed in the other half of the ingredients. I about halved the walnuts, cranberries, and chives due to personal preference or what I had in the house. I noticed it said balsamic vinaigrette and not vinegar. So, I mixed some up using olive oil and a small pinch of sugar and salt. I also ended up adding an additional 1 Tblsp of olive oil, at the end, due to it looking a little dry. For the tomatoes I just used 3 sliced and quartered roma tomatoes and for the asparagus I used French haricot green beans I cooked in the microwave about 10 minutes and cooled. As all of the ingredients tasted well together and they were easy to put together I may try this in the future with leftover cooked brown rice to save time. My bag says this is a substitute for rice or pasta. Either way, this recipe seems quite healthy and I think it will be well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made this recipe as it is written and loved it! Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Had this at a friends house, liked very much...now my first attempt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I am a huge fan of balsamic, so I really liked this recipe. But, it is *strong*, so if someone is not a fan of that flavor they might not like the dish. It would be really good with barely or a similar grain as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Tried and Loved! I have a very picky partner to cook for, and it was a hit. Asking for it again. Going to take to a volunteer meeting, since rarely do you find a dish great at room temp. Even though several steps to prepare worth it for the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purpleladyl222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Yummy! Personal preference - too much parsley! Also, I couldn't find Farro so I substituted Orzo - turned out great! Also, I added more basaltic (almost double) - maybe was necessary due to the orzo sub? Overall a very good recipe. I think it will be very popular this summer at pot lucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I never tried farro before but this recipe was great! I used lemon juice instead of balsamic vinegar, decreased the amount of Parmesan cheese, and left out the chives because I didn't feel like buying it. The recipe was really easy and makes a good amount, so I can take it for lunches this week at work. I'm so glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States