Farro Salad with Asparagus and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Very good. I used green beans (what I had from our garden) instead of asparagus. I also cooked farrow according to the package, which was dry, 1 cup farrow to 3 cups liquid, simmer 30 min and drain the excess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
liked it. I made a few adjustments and it came out sweet, which I like. instead of asparagus, I added 1 cup of cooked frozen mixed veggies(carrots, peas, corn). I eliminated the parsley & cheese. Everyone liked it and it will be great as a leftover for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This salad was a big hit at a recent luncheon. Trader Joe's has 10 minute farro which saved a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I believe you only have to soak the farro if its not pearlized. That is all my grocery store sells and it cooks in 20 min. I made a vegan version with no cheese and it was very good. Walnuts and cranberries seem to be a very good combination with the nutty farro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This is perfection. I'd never made a dish with farro previously. I also substituted sliced toasted almonds! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
love this recipe! I used the Farro (Costco carries it) and it was absolutely delicious. I might add feta cheese to it next time as well ... very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Really good! We had a bag of Trader Joe's par-cooked farro, which allowed us to skip the soaking step and cook the grain in 10 minutes--big time-saver. The bag was just shy of 2 cups, so I just followed regular amounts in the rest of the recipe. My modifications: I toasted the walnuts; I didn't have enough cranberries so used half dried cranberries, half golden raisins; and I didn't have enough parsley so added chopped fresh mint, which was terrific. I used a homemade balsamic vinaigrette. I also completely forgot the Parmesan, but didn't miss it. Perfect side dish--we served it on a bed of watercress with grilled chicken. Oh, and it makes a ton, so I have plenty to bring for lunches during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this for an Easter buffet and it was absolutely wonderful! Made especially for vegetarians in the group, but everyone loved it so much. I used faro (rather than substitute for another grain) and am so glad I did.. it is wonderfully nutty and chewy, and holds up really well with the other ingredients. The leftovers kept well for at least 5 days .. I think it may even have become better as it sat! The only substitution I made was scallions in place of chives (the chives looked terrible at the grocer) and it was perfect. I will make this again and again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is a great salad, I have made it several times. I used 10 minute farro from Trader Joe's it works the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States