Farro Salad with Asparagus and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
liked it. I made a few adjustments and it came out sweet, which I like. instead of asparagus, I added 1 cup of cooked frozen mixed veggies(carrots, peas, corn). I eliminated the parsley & cheese. Everyone liked it and it will be great as a leftover for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This salad was a big hit at a recent luncheon. Trader Joe's has 10 minute farro which saved a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I believe you only have to soak the farro if its not pearlized. That is all my grocery store sells and it cooks in 20 min. I made a vegan version with no cheese and it was very good. Walnuts and cranberries seem to be a very good combination with the nutty farro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This is perfection. I'd never made a dish with farro previously. I also substituted sliced toasted almonds! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
love this recipe! I used the Farro (Costco carries it) and it was absolutely delicious. I might add feta cheese to it next time as well ... very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Really good! We had a bag of Trader Joe's par-cooked farro, which allowed us to skip the soaking step and cook the grain in 10 minutes--big time-saver. The bag was just shy of 2 cups, so I just followed regular amounts in the rest of the recipe. My modifications: I toasted the walnuts; I didn't have enough cranberries so used half dried cranberries, half golden raisins; and I didn't have enough parsley so added chopped fresh mint, which was terrific. I used a homemade balsamic vinaigrette. I also completely forgot the Parmesan, but didn't miss it. Perfect side dish--we served it on a bed of watercress with grilled chicken. Oh, and it makes a ton, so I have plenty to bring for lunches during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this for an Easter buffet and it was absolutely wonderful! Made especially for vegetarians in the group, but everyone loved it so much. I used faro (rather than substitute for another grain) and am so glad I did.. it is wonderfully nutty and chewy, and holds up really well with the other ingredients. The leftovers kept well for at least 5 days .. I think it may even have become better as it sat! The only substitution I made was scallions in place of chives (the chives looked terrible at the grocer) and it was perfect. I will make this again and again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is a great salad, I have made it several times. I used 10 minute farro from Trader Joe's it works the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I tried this yesterday just for the heck of it....yummy!!! So I made it for Easter Dinner at my sisters and everyone wanted the recipe and wanted to know what the little pearls were. Even my unhealthy eaters loved it. Great stuff for healthy food! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States