Farmhouse Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Good, but WAY too salty. I even skipped the salt. There's probably such a thing as low-salt canned soup. I'd try that next time. I'm sure my broth was low-salt. I'd cut the salt wherever I could. Other than that, it was tasty. And, I got rid of the stuffing in my pantry! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Love this recipe! What a great way to have a real home cookin type meal even on the days you don't have time. This one goes into regular rotation. So easy when you pre-cook your chicken ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great recipe. I buy a whole roasted chicken from the store and pick it apart. I also add a small can of mushrooms to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is one of my new favorite comfort foods. Delicious. I didn't change a thing, although next time I'll follow the advice of previous reviewers and omit the extra salt. Stove Top stuffing is pretty salty on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Easy, quick, and kid friendly! I used a rotisserie chicken, an 8oz Stovetop Stuffing mix, and one can of mushroom soup, then halved the milk and other ingredients. Yummy and boy did it smell good while it was baking. I had everybody's mouths watering. Every mother's dream...along with easy clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Easy and delicious. Accidentally bought cream of chicken soup and it was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This recipe hit the spot! This is the second time I've followed this recipe, but I think it was better this time! It was only two of us, so I made two chicken breasts, left whole and one chicken breast was enough for my bf and I. Now we have lunch for tomorrow! I made the Stove Top as directed, but the directions call for butter and I just omitted that. I mixed one can of cream of chicken soup, pepper, and a little less than 1/4 cup milk (these are all portions based on 2 servings). I only had a stalk and a half of celery left so I used that, next time I would like to add more, then added the celery and a slice of onion, diced into the stuffing. For assembly, I did mine differently: I sprayed two large pieces of tin foil with Pam, coated the chicken with a bit of pepper, Adobe, and dried chopped onion then put that on the foil. Next to the chicken, I added half the stuffing mixture and topped that with frozen peas. I then covered it all with the cream mixture, making sure the entire chicken was coated. Last, I folded the sides and top in so it could cook in the foil. I ended up cooking the chicken on 375 degrees from 45 minutes. Amazing! The only thing I will change next time is no onion in the stuffing mixture and less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was a nice homey meal, I did make gravy instead of using the soup, good comfort food thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I just finished eating this dinner. This is a definite keeper! I didn't have the exact ingredients, so I substituted 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of cream of broccoli soup for the celery soup. I eliminated the chopped celery and added celery seed instead, and also added 1 can of peas, drained. I eliminated the additional salt as others had suggested. This was exactly what I was looking for. I think the next time that I make this, I will add fresh mushrooms and broccoli florets. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Ellen Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I have made this or very similar for years...very good and I would recommend. I do pound out my chicken and saute them a bit before chunking it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States