Farmer's Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Absolutely Delicious! A great breakfast casserole to serve for overnight guests that will keep you with them and out of the kitchen! I took the advice of others and used Ore-Ida Potatoes O'Brien. I used one extra egg and 2% evaporated milk. I used cheddar cheese vs. pepper jack. For people who complained that this was not "spicy" enough, it's a breakfast casserole it's not supposed to be filled with a bunch of spices unless you want heartburn all day. This is a great recipe because of its versatility. You can substitute another breakfast meat for the ham or put some in addition, add veggies such as chopped fresh tomatoes or mushrooms. You could also change the pepper jack cheese to whatever cheese blend you prefer. It's up to you. I would suggest making the recipe once first then play around with it. It's definitely a keeper! I served it with fresh fruit, toast, and bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I made this for brunch on Christmas morning. I doubled the recipe using a 9x13 baking dish. I also used O'Brien potatoes which I feel added a lot of flavor. The pepperjack cheese is a must--it really adds a nice zip to the casserole. It turned out perfectly and everyone loved it. It was also great the next day leftover. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I made this with potatoes O'Brian, added some sour cream and used spicey country sausage instead of ham. A little garlic powder and lots more onion turned this from bland to delicious. Thanks for the idea Lorrie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I cringe when I see the bread/milk/eggs brunch casserole recipes; so this was the ticket for me! Made it on Christmas morning and it was delicious. I used O'Brien potatoes (cubed frozen hash browns with peppers/onions), and it made it very flavorful and colorful. Thanks for sharing this recipe. P. S. This recipe should be added to the brunch category!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Followed this recipe exactly as stated except I used 1/2 a grated onion instead of the green onions because that was what I had on hand. This turned out just OK; not great but not bad either; just kinda ho-hum. I usually make a breakfast casserole that uses crescent rolls and no potatoes that I love and I think I will continue use it instead of this recipe. I think the combinatin of the evaporated milk and the potatoes gave this a strange texture that we did not care for. Not really sure why the recipe calls for the evporated milk instead of just using regular milk. This also took much longer to cook than stated in the recipe. I had to bake it for an hour and 30 minutes before the center set up. Sorry, this one is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This was really good. My husband absolutely loved it! He almost ate the whole thing by himself. The only thing that I would do differently the next time I make it would be to substitute half of the Pepper Jack Cheese with Cheddar Cheese and maybe add more seasonings like garlic powder and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
A GREAT recipe!! The pepperjack cheese gives it a nice "kick" that some meals lack. This is good for breakfast or dinner and my family always eats every last bite...never fails. I plan to use my leftover easter ham to make this again...and again..and again. Thank you for sharing this with us Lorrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I also add in cooked sausage, also you can use hash brown patties instead, just crumble. *Here is my update on this: I double this recipe using a 9x13 pan, using 1 bag of hash browns, cooked crumbled breakfast sausage, 2 C cheddar/jack cheese. Let this sit over night bake off in the morning for about 1 hr. http://ldylvbgr.blogspot.com/2008/12/good-morning.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
My husband walked in the door and said "What are you cooking - it smells good". I substituted shredded Cheddar and diced green chili peppers for the pepper-jack and added 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard to milk-egg mixture. It was good. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this exactly as written, and my entire family loved it, which is unusual in my house. I used cubed frozen hash browns, and the only thing I might do differently next time would be to roast the potatoes before putting in the casserole, to give them a little firmer texture. Otherwise I won't change a thing. Thanks for a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States