Farmer's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Good bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I made this bread with unbleached flour and kneaded it with whole wheat flour. I was out of butter so i used butter crisco. It turned out wonderful. A very nice hardy bread. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This bread is like a brick! It didn't rise well and was very bland, even though I added 2 TBSP Sugar, extra salt, and cayanne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
UPDATE: It is now my go-to recipe for making focaccia bread. I make 1/2 a loaf and add 1/4 cup sugar to the yeast/water mixture. After the first rise, I roll it out to 9x13 and place on baking sheet. I spread a butter/honey/salt mixture on and then sprinkle with Italian seasonings..... BEST in the world
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daviskr
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
this was my first time to make bread, and this turned out perfect. I divided the bread into two parts, and baked each in a loaf pan. I let the bread rise in the pan for the second rising. also i turned down the temp on my oven because i don't like a thick crust. my husband and i ate one whole loaf the day i baked it. good thing i have another loaf. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is one of my favorite bread recipes. It always comes out to be a huge loaf, is super easy to make by hand, and is very easy to adapt or add small touches too. Such as rolling in seaseme seeds, rolled oats, etc. It also makes wonderful pizza breads - my son loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Great recipe for a first-time bread-baker because of the simple ingredients and easy instructions. It was crispy on the outside and soft and crumbly on the inside - it looked very much like store-bought white bread. However, it tasted quite bland. The next time I make it I'll add 2 tsps of sugar to the yeast-water mix and 2 tsps of kosher salt to the dry ingredients to see if that helps any. Overall it's a wonderful, basic white bread that I'll use for a variety of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
great bread...it is like a french bread...there is no sugar in it...but it turned out just perfectly...i made the dough in the bread machine & baked according to the directions...and i used margarine instead of butter...good stuff...will forsure make it again...thanks for sharing the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
LOVE this bread! Was my first time using my stand mixer and first time making a yeast bread. It was so easy and turned out really beautifully. I ended up using a little less flour but went to a 'T', for the most part and everyone loves it. the texture is moist and chewy inside and nice and crusty on the outside. I am no longer afraid of making bread! YAY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
A nice bread, small crumb, not a lot of rising so don't punch it down too much. I tried substituting 2cups whole wheat flour to the mixture and a 1/4cup more water as well. Tonight I will also try retarding the mixture in the refrigerator for 10-12hrs after letting it rise for the 1hr the first time. This should let the flavors develop more and help to get an more airy bread. I'm also going to try adding steam to this bread while baking for the first 10mins to get the crust to stiffen up as well. Good recipe... my first decent bread I've made and it was well received and went quickly. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States