Farmer's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This bread was very easy to make! I have been making my own bread for some time now....and this is a wonderful recipe. It helps to put a pan of boiling water on the rack UNDER the rack the bread is on. It makes a nice chewy crust, with warm soft bread on the inside! Thanks for sharing this receipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This bread was yummy, but not as wonderful as I was expecting. It was my first time making bread, so it's possible that I did something wrong! Tastes great with honey drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
As a first time bread maker I found this recipe very easy to use. The bread was wonderful - great for sandwiches! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is an easy recipe, with guananteed results. I do add 2 tsp. sugar, and melt the butter instead of cutting it in, and it tastes terrific. I love that it has no milk in it, and since I've made this several times I can honestly say it's always cames out great. Nothing worse than bread that doesn't rise, and that just doesn't happen here. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wilbur, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This was my first project, and I'm a novice bread-maker...I found the recipe simple, easy to follow, a bit more time consuming than the times given, but it delivered a massive, wonderfully textured loaf...am very glad to have found the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
WONDERFUL! My family loved this bread, from the 2yr old to my husband. It was much easier than other recipes I have tried and it came out great. Even with 3 small children underfoot. If you haven't tried it yet, you should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2000
I tried it only once as just gifts and everybody offered to actually buy it from me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
It is the time I bake bread. This one is super. I can't wait to Mom taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I halved this recipe--no way that amount of ingredients results in just 12 slices. It's a very easy, very basic, plain white bread. The only change I made was to put it in my bread machine on the dough cycle, then I baked it as written. It worked very well with the Orange Pecan French Toast I made for breakfast this morning. The size of the loaf makes very long slices, but if you cut them in half they are perfect half size sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Texture-wise, its wonderful! With a crisp crust and fluffy inside. But like others mentioned, its kinda bland. I did add 2 tbsp of sugar like someone suggested, but... I also doubled the quantity of salt. Reckon it would taste pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States