Farm Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
VERY GOOD RECIPE,I TOOK THIS TO A COOKIE EXCHANGE AND EVERYONE RAVE ABOUT IT,MADE A FEW CHANGES ONLY.USE A 1/2 CUP FLOUR AND 1 Tsp COCONUT EXTRACT,DIPPED THE FINISH COOKIES IN CHOCOLATE.THEY WHERE PRETTY AND DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Just made these and let me say, I now like coconut!!! They took 30 mins to bake in my oven, but other than that, a great cookie and very light. I also added red and green sprinkles before I baked them and they are quite cute!!! will make again!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissHoneyBelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Beware! These are so good, you might not be able to stop eating them. I just made a batch and already I have eaten 4, they are so yummy. They are a very delicate cookie made by whipping egg whites into a meringue type batter. The cookies are moist and soft--not crisp like a meringue cookie. Much lighter than the dense chewy macaroons made with sweetened condensed milk. I followed the directions exactly as written and they came out great. The only thing was I baked them about 10 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
These were good, but not a traditional macaroon. They were more like coconut mirengues (sp??). They tasted good, but VERY sweet if you use sweetened coconut like I did. You might want to cut the sugar down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TuTPie
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I was craving a coconut cookie, but was almost out of butter so I tried these. They did not disappoint. A little crunchy on the edges and soft and chewy in the middle... I followed some other's advice... I used 1/2 c ground almonds instead of the almond extract. (I liked the added texture that came from the almonds.) I threw in about 1/2 tsp of coconut extract. I didn't have cream of tarter so I substituted a good squeeze (1 tsp?) of fresh lemon juice. I upped the flour to 1/2 c and was very generous with my cups of coconut. I wasn't paying attention and I dumped the sugar into the flour/coconut mixture before I whipped the egg whites... Luckily I had only put in about 3/4 c, so I went ahead and whipped about 1/4 c into the whites, not sure why, other than peace of mind. I used a 2 tsp-ish cookie scoop and got 41 cookies. I baked them 10 min on the middle rack and let them finish on the top rack (about 8-10 more min). They browned up nicely, but were a little smoother in appearance than the photo. Next time I might try rolling them in a little coconut before I bake them, just for appearance. Love that they are a bit healthier than most. Will make them again. They would be heavenly with a whole almond on top and drizzled with chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Wow! I have been looking for this recipe for a long time! After reading the reviews I decided to make some modifications. I added 1/2 cup of flour instead od 1/2 and cut back on sugar. It turned out GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good, though a little sweet. Mine also took about 30 minutes to cook and never did get very 'golden.' Great texture, will probably cut down on the sugar a bit next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Mine are just coming out of the oven now - they're not 'spiky' like other macaroon recipes I've tried, but they're elegantly smooth, and just melt in the mouth. The outside is a little crunchy and the inside is chewy and coconutty. So good! I'm drizzling semi-sweet chocolate on the tops and taking them to a brunch! The only things I altered were using sweetened coconut and baking on German parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very good recipe. I followed some of the suggestions on the reviews and reduced the sugar to 3/4 of a cup and they were plenty sweet enough. I also added a marchino cherry to the tops of some and on others melted some semi sweet chocolate for the tops. It was a very good recipe, I will definetely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States