Farm Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These are the best. I didn't have any almond extract so I substituted pineapple and made pina colada instead. Instead of cookies, I baked them in mini cupcake pans and took them to church and returned home with an empty cookie tin. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Outstanding cookies, even the kids liked them and they don't like coconut very much. They melted milk chocolate and put it on the ones they ate. They never turned brown so when I took them out I hit them with with the blow torch and that browned them up quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzi Tafoya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanna
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
It was way too sweet (even with only 1 cup of sugar). I don't know what's with me and not able to follow directions, but I blended in the flour instead of folding it. It made the batter extremely creamy so I ended up putting it in a muffin pan, and baked it at 350 for 20 min. This made it ridiculously difficult to get out (even with it oiled). However, it wasn't all that bad. I ended up flipping them over and dipping it in chocolate, then sprinkled it with coconut shavings (they were so ugly I couldn't stand it). Chilled them in the fridge - very sweet but not bad at all. However, I don't think I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe needed more coconut and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sweetjunkie
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great recipe for a change from the traditional, heavy sweetened condensed milk version of coconut macarrons. They are very light and fluffy. Many that tried them said they preferred this version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Suggestions: Use only 3 eggs for chewier macaroons, instead of wheat flour use grounds almonds, use only 3/4 cup of sugar, use 2 tsp. vanilla extract, and 1.5 tsp. almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Yummy...very addicting, totally ate way more than I should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
These definitely need more coconut! I made them as suggested with 3 cups coconut and more flour. I think they could use even more coconut as they are still really meringue-like and didn't come out looking like the picture. Yummy smells and good flavor, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
YUMM!!! This recipe was my first attempt at making macaroons and I don't think I'll be looking for another recipe. I did read the recommendations and cut the sugar down. I used 3/4c of sugar. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
These were so yummy. I made sure that my egg whites were room temperature, increased the coconut to about 3 3/4 cups. I also toasted the coconut. I baked them using a silpat liner on top of my cookie sheets. After they cooled for a few minutes, they slid right off. They were very sweet, but delicious. Next time I'll reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States