Farm Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I really liked these. I messed them up the first time because I didn't follow the instructions carefully enough. Make positively sure the egg whites are a ROOM TEMPERATURE! They won't get the consistency that's required if you don't. Also, unless you have a stand-up mixer, you will kill your arms. I put the mixture with the whisk attachment on my KitchenAid (on FULL BLAST) for a full 5 or 10 minutes to get the right texture. (Did I say make sure the whites should be at room temperature--LOL). Another great tool for these cookies is a cookie scoop. I don't use mine much, but it was invaluable for these. My last suggestion is to cut the amount of sugar. I used the 1 & 1/4 cup amount the first time and they were a bit too sweet (and I LOVE sweet). I reduced the sugar to a SCANT cup. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I was looking for a recipe that was similar to the one I used working in a bakery. This was the closest. It is a good replica to what I used to make. It comes out light and tall and not gooey like other recipes with condensed milk. I was surprised to grease and flour the pan (prepare) as I have always used parchments before, but it worked very well. The macaroons must cool completely before removing and they just pop off. I dipped them in orange flavored chocolate and they were a hit! Enough to make for my daughters wedding reception. Word of caution...egg whites must be whipped in a very clean glass or metal bowl...with no oil or yolk, to get a high peak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I just finished making these and they taste very good. I have a suggestion for those who had a hard time with the egg whites. Apparently you have to add the sugar in a steady stream on the side of the bowl. If you just dump it in (like I did) the bubbles in the egg whites will pop and the whole thing will be ruined. I'm going to try it again the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
These were delicious! I upped the amount of coconut to 3 cups for more chewiness and I lined the pan with waxed paper before dropping the cookie dough onto the cookie sheets. Very easy clean-up and saved the grease and flour step. Be sure to let the cookies completely cool before trying to remove them. They'll just peel off the waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I have made two batches of these in as many days and everyone loves them, most of all, me! I did tweak the recipe just a bit, as follows; -egg whites at room temperature -1 c. of sugar not 1 1/4 -I used unsweetened coconut -I doubled the almond extract -I added the extracts after the whites were whipped to stiff peaks -I refrigerated the batter for about 1 hr. before putting the cookies on ungreased parchment paper to bake -I got 20 cookies out of one recipe, and took the full 20 min. to bake them at 300. HOPE YOU LIKE THEM AS MUCH AS WE DO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Very nice little cookie, but definitely not a traditional macaroon. It's good, light and very sweet. I cut the recipe in half and that made more than enough little cookies. These really didn't brown, even after I raised the oven temp. to 325. I'm not sure I'd even want them to - next time I'll put a cherry in the center and make these at Xmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I love these cookies...much lighter than condensed-milk macaroons, with a great consistency. I replaced 1/2 cup of coconut with 1/2 cup of coarsely ground toasted almonds and it tasted fantastic! I also toast the coconut before adding it to enhance to flavor. However...this recipe does NOT make 48 servings...I barely got half that using heaping tablespoons of batter. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
One word..."FABULOUS"! This was my first attempt at making macaroons of any kind and they came out absolutely delicious. Shape can be improved and probably should use a little bit less sugar but nonetheless, crunchy on the outside with chewy and moist center. I whipped the egg whites in a small steel pot (took a good 15 minutes or so by hand), used only vanilla extract, and substituted creme of tartar for 3x the amount of lemon juice. I was careful to fold in the dry ingredients into the stiff egg white and sugar mixture. While baking, my spooned heapfuls stayed airy but became quite a bit flatter. So, after about 8 minutes of baking, I removed the pan and using 2 spoons, reshaped them. Maybe I will try to chill the mixture a little bit next time to see if shape holds better. Although my macaroons do not quite look like the store bought macaroons I'd say mine came out tasting nicer. I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
Wow- this was the first macaroon recipie I've ever made- and I must admit, I was a little worried..now, as I sit here munching on one of the most heavenly cookies ever, I wonder why I was worried! Crispy on the outside, chewy in the center- they turn out a little more flat than I expected, but who cares when they taste so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good, though a little sweet. Mine also took about 30 minutes to cook and never did get very 'golden.' Great texture, will probably cut down on the sugar a bit next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States