Farm Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
A bit airy and fluffy compared to a traditional macaroon, but considering the nutritional info is GREAT, I will compromise on its consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I was disappointed. Too sweet, didn't brown in 300 deg oven, not what I consider a macaroon. After tasting the first batch to come out of the oven, I added another cup of coconut to the rest of the batter, they needed more coconut. I used sweetened coconut as there is no unsweetened coconut available in the store. Apparently the recipe should state "unsweetened flaked coconut" because these were horrendously sweet. So, if using sweetened coconut, cut the sugar WAY back. All-in-all, save yourself some trouble and pass on this recipe. There are better ones out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I give this 4 stars because I didn't like them at all but everyone at my husband's office LOVED them! lol They were easy to make and I reduced the sugar as suggested but I don't think I should have. I also used sweetened coconut. (Yes I have a big sweet tooth) As an added touch I drizzled melted semi-sweet cocolate on top then sprinkled crumbled Andes creme de menthe candies on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani Buhajla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I don't think I whipped the eggs long enough, they turned out flat. Good, but flat. I'll try again another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made these with sweetened coconut because I wasn't paying attention in the store, but they still turned out really good. My mom, who has the biggest sweet tooth of anyone I know, ate an entire dozen by herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyLakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was so very good and easy. I drizzled melted semi sweet chocolate on top. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingkt
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I love, love, love coconut macaroons. These are great! I was worried that I didn't beat the egg whites enough, but they turned out perfect. I did switch to a smaller scoop for the second batch and decrease to 1 cup sugar. I also added 1/3 cup finely chopped almonds into the flour mixture. The small scoop is about 2 tsp. I also baked until light brown around the base and then moved them to the top rack until golden. These are fluffy and chewy and so yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingkt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
these tasted ok... they where NOT the right consitensy they turend into soup in the oven i was sooo disapointed!:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by i<3brownies

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Not bad tasting but nothing like a macaroon, more like a meringue with coconut in it. Hard to eat because it is so flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I cut back the sugar as suggested to 3/4 c and beat the egg whites to stiff peaks. They turned out very tasty. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States