Farm Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Just made these and let me say, I now like coconut!!! They took 30 mins to bake in my oven, but other than that, a great cookie and very light. I also added red and green sprinkles before I baked them and they are quite cute!!! will make again!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissHoneyBelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Beware! These are so good, you might not be able to stop eating them. I just made a batch and already I have eaten 4, they are so yummy. They are a very delicate cookie made by whipping egg whites into a meringue type batter. The cookies are moist and soft--not crisp like a meringue cookie. Much lighter than the dense chewy macaroons made with sweetened condensed milk. I followed the directions exactly as written and they came out great. The only thing was I baked them about 10 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
These were good, but not a traditional macaroon. They were more like coconut mirengues (sp??). They tasted good, but VERY sweet if you use sweetened coconut like I did. You might want to cut the sugar down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TuTPie
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I was craving a coconut cookie, but was almost out of butter so I tried these. They did not disappoint. A little crunchy on the edges and soft and chewy in the middle... I followed some other's advice... I used 1/2 c ground almonds instead of the almond extract. (I liked the added texture that came from the almonds.) I threw in about 1/2 tsp of coconut extract. I didn't have cream of tarter so I substituted a good squeeze (1 tsp?) of fresh lemon juice. I upped the flour to 1/2 c and was very generous with my cups of coconut. I wasn't paying attention and I dumped the sugar into the flour/coconut mixture before I whipped the egg whites... Luckily I had only put in about 3/4 c, so I went ahead and whipped about 1/4 c into the whites, not sure why, other than peace of mind. I used a 2 tsp-ish cookie scoop and got 41 cookies. I baked them 10 min on the middle rack and let them finish on the top rack (about 8-10 more min). They browned up nicely, but were a little smoother in appearance than the photo. Next time I might try rolling them in a little coconut before I bake them, just for appearance. Love that they are a bit healthier than most. Will make them again. They would be heavenly with a whole almond on top and drizzled with chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Wow! I have been looking for this recipe for a long time! After reading the reviews I decided to make some modifications. I added 1/2 cup of flour instead od 1/2 and cut back on sugar. It turned out GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good, though a little sweet. Mine also took about 30 minutes to cook and never did get very 'golden.' Great texture, will probably cut down on the sugar a bit next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Mine are just coming out of the oven now - they're not 'spiky' like other macaroon recipes I've tried, but they're elegantly smooth, and just melt in the mouth. The outside is a little crunchy and the inside is chewy and coconutty. So good! I'm drizzling semi-sweet chocolate on the tops and taking them to a brunch! The only things I altered were using sweetened coconut and baking on German parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very good recipe. I followed some of the suggestions on the reviews and reduced the sugar to 3/4 of a cup and they were plenty sweet enough. I also added a marchino cherry to the tops of some and on others melted some semi sweet chocolate for the tops. It was a very good recipe, I will definetely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I have a family member with dairy issues so I was pleased to have found a recipe that she can enjoy. for an added surprise, I put a maraschino cherry in the middle. mmmmm... also with some I would coat the bottom of the cookie with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States