Farm Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
The recipe as writtten is more like a meringue cookie. They were ok, but a little sweet. On the next batch I added 2 cups more of coconut and 1 cup slivered almonds. Flattened a little before baking and the result was great. More like a macaroon and a little crunchy on the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
These were wonderful macaroons! I did feel that the recipe calls for way to much sugar, so I cut it down to 1 cup. I also used half unsweetened coconut and half sweetened. I added about 1/2 cup of extra unsweetened coconut for more flavor. My family absolutely loved these; I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These were OK. However, I felt there was too much egg and not enough coconut. It came out more like a meringue with coconut in it. I added a splash of lemon juice instead of almond extract and about 1 tsp of nutmeg. The flavor was good, I was just a little disappointed with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I guess just a personal preference, but I didn't like these at all.. it was like a meringue with coconut in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! WAY better than Coconut Macaroons III recipe from this site. I would not recommend any macaroon recipe that calls for condensed milk. It's a nifty shortcut, but you will be sorry you took it; the taste is overwhelming and obnoxious. I loved how these macaroon cookies turned out. It's true - they are more like meringue cookies, not exactly what I was looking for, but still delicious. I used unsweetened coconut and they were plenty sweet. Also, on an advice from another reviewer I added 50% more coconut to each portion hoping they would hold their shape better, but they still turned out quite flat like cookies, although I was happy with the result anyway. Melted chocolate drizzle on top - is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Terrific recipe! The hint of almond flavoring makes it perfect. The cookies turn out moist and tender. I used a fork to spoon the dough onto foiled lined cookie sheets (shiny side down or the cookies will reflect too much heat and brown too quickly.) Then i can form it into more of a circle with the fork and make a little dent in the top for the candied cherry. Once the cookies cool completely, they peel right off the foil. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I can tell these WOULD taste good if they had come out. But they didn't. I had read everyone's reviews about making sure the egg whites were room temperature, and made sure to beat the whites to form stiff peaks. I think my cookies might have gone awry when I put them in the refrigerator like another reviewer said to do. I will try them again and not do that. The ones I made did not come off the waxed paper. Maybe second time's a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I decided to use the original recipe first. Way too sweet. I would cut back on the sugar (perhaps only 3/4 c) especially if you're using sweetened coconut. I was going to drizzle dark chocolate onto these but that will make them way too sweet. And I would agree with a few reviewers - these are more like meringues than macaroons. Bake for 30 min instead of 20 if you're oven is cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I tried three recipes for Macaroons this year after my 20 year old daughter decided she liked them. I always stayed away from them thinking they were too hard to make. After reading all of the comments and trying the recipes, my family has decided this one will be added to our collection. It was the best testing and very easy! The egg whites whipped up fine being at room temp and fresh. I did use a 14 oz bag of coconut, reduced the sugar to a cup, and used parchment paper to cook on. I also had to cook them at 325 for 18 minutes. GREAT Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
VERY GOOD RECIPE,I TOOK THIS TO A COOKIE EXCHANGE AND EVERYONE RAVE ABOUT IT,MADE A FEW CHANGES ONLY.USE A 1/2 CUP FLOUR AND 1 Tsp COCONUT EXTRACT,DIPPED THE FINISH COOKIES IN CHOCOLATE.THEY WHERE PRETTY AND DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States