Farm Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I'm not a HUGE coconut fan, but these were pretty good. It was my first time making a macaroon. These were very light and fluffy. So simple to make. I followed the recipe exactly and used another reviewers suggestion to make sure the egg whites were room temp. I made them for a baby shower so I drizzled melted pink almond bark for a nice touch. The only thing I may try different next time is to add a bit more coconut. Mine looked like white clouds. I would like them to have more of a "haystack" look next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I am sure a lot of people made these with great success. They sound great but way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Use medium egg whites or you may find yourself with a meringue with coconut instead of a coconut macaroon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I tried what a previous reviewer suggested and added a candied cherry on top. The cookies turned out so pretty and they are new family favorite- I can't keep the kids away from them. These were also surprisingly easy and quick to put together- a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was my first attempt at macaroons. I wanted to make something different for the cookie exchange at work. This was so easy. I bought sweetened coconut so I cut back the sugar to 1/3 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I just made this recipe and while they taste very good, they don't look like macaroons, but more like flat coconut meringues. If I try again, I may add more coconut and maybe chill for a bit to see if they hold their shape better. I was really hoping for macaroons like you buy in the store so it was a bit disappointing when I took my first pan out of the oven and they were no where close to that. Taste gets a 5, shape gets a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were wonderful and look amazing which is important in my cafe! A couple of hints: 1) Use an icecream scoop with the release mode to scoop out even and round macaroons 2) To make them even prettier, add a cherry to the top before cooking 3) to make them even more WOW, drizzle them with chocolate when they come out of the oven. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Really good. Would have given 5 stars but I added a 1/2 cup more coconut and 1/2 tsp more vanilla. Make these for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I started by following the recipe as written, minus a little suger since I was using sweetened coconut. After I had combined everything it was very obvious that there was far to little coconut for this to make macaroons so I added about another cup and a half of coconut. It still looked a little to meringue cookie instead of macaroon but I gave it a try. The first batch I left in a little over the 20 min. because it wasn't browning. When I took them out I had a crisp meringue cookie with a bit of chewy coconut in the middle. The second batch I took out before they crisped and ended up with slightly undercooked meringue cookie that was reminisent of a macaroon. As a meringue cookie with some coconut I would rate this 3 stars, because it was ok, just not great even if you aren't wanting macaroons. If you want macaroons this recipe would have negative stars. I gave it 2 stars because they are ok cookies but they dont' come close to chewy, slightly sticky, toasted coconut delight that is a real macaroon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
very easy to make and very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reatherborwick@hotmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States