Farm Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made these yesterday for a neighbor's BBQ. Most of the guests were older and have a better appreciation for this classic cookie. They loved my macaroons. They turned out great, but I did use wax paper like suggested and tehy were tricky to get off the wax paper. I will try to grease the cookie sheet next time. I also used sweeted coconut and used only a half cup of sugar and they were perfectly sweet (at least to my palette) I will make these again really soon, maybe for the Mother in Law. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lan Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
It became my husbands favourite, just with a little less coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stopsz
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I was not happy with these. They came out flat and pale in color. The texture was chewy and hard. Flavor was decent. I had no trouble whipping the stiff peaks into the egg whites, however is it possible to over whip them? While the first batch was in the oven I kept the batter in the fridge hoping that would prevent the flatness. It didn't work. I may try these again someday, but for now I'm going to work on cakes. I seem to be better at that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I reduced the sugar to 1c. It might help to use eggs that are at room temperature and also, toast the coconut before hand to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I was disappointed with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I had been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. These are soooooooo good. They taste very close to the ones my mom bought from local pastry stores.I used unsweetened coconut and added more coconut than the recipe called for until the dough was thick and all I could see was coconut. Very tast. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I screwed these up big time, yet I have no idea what I did wrong. Mine turned out flat, spread out, and easily broken. Hmm.. practice makes perfect?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I think these taseted great! I am looking for a thicker type of macaroon, like a bakery in town. These did deflate a little bit, but tasted very good!! Oh, I did reduce the amount of sugar to about 3/4 C and did use sweented cococut. They were still sweet. I might try to reduce the sugar some more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I really like this recipe. It is not so heavy, sticky sweet like some recipes. It is lighter, more "meringuey" than other recipes. I did take another reviewer's advice and add almond extract to the recipe and people raved about them. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
the first batch came out flat on cookie sheet.so i put the secon batch on parchmentpaper and they came out great.thank u for sharing this recipe.its a keeper.we do add 3 1/2 cups of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States