Farm Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a real macaroon recipe! Freshly whipped egg whites, rather than sweetened condensed milk.. just the way I like. The only thing I changed was to decrease the sugar to only 1/4 cup - because I used sweetened flaked/shredded coconut. It's plenty sweet, although I like my desserts to be not *too* sweet. :) I baked for 20 minutes (and turned the trays halfway through), but they were barely browning. So, I increased the temperature to 350 for an additional 2 minutes, and it did the trick. I baked them on parchment paper that I had smeared with a little bit of vegetable oil (using a paper towel). After they had cooled, they came off simply. I drizzled mine with melted semi-sweet chocolate.. divine! Thank you for this recipe. . I had been searching for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was my first time making macaroons. I read all the suggestions and was very nervous making. They turned out great! Using the suggestions, I did only use 3 eggs since my were large. I used sweetened coconut, increasing to 3 cups and I did toast it first. I cut the sugar to 2/3 cup, perfectly sweet. I greased & floured my pan and they came off perfectly. I used a cookie scoop and only yielded 30 cookies. They do come out quite white so I'm thankful I did toast the coconut. I dipped half in dark chocolate and they are scrumptious! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ruther Glen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These were so good! I baked them for about 24 minutes at 300 degrees so they would turn out a bit firmer. I couldn't find unsweetened shredded coconut, so I only used about 1/3c sugar with sweetened shredded coconut. I don't think these cookies will brown (mine came out lily-white), so if you want them to look like traditional macaroons you're going to want to toast the coconut. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
were to sticky were not light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
these didn't turn out for me they where flat and stuck to the cookie sheet i wasn't able to get them off at all the fell apart and where way to sweet!!!! i do want to make macaroons so im going to try again but with parchment paper and less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Very nice little cookie, but definitely not a traditional macaroon. It's good, light and very sweet. I cut the recipe in half and that made more than enough little cookies. These really didn't brown, even after I raised the oven temp. to 325. I'm not sure I'd even want them to - next time I'll put a cherry in the center and make these at Xmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Turned out reallly tasty. Followed what others said and added a bit less sugar, i also opted for 1 tsp lemon juice instead of cream of tartar since I don't have it (and I was halfing the recipe, and they turned out without lemon flavor, :) They did flatten out a little bit, but not bad. Also, I put them on a pan greased and covered with corn starch instead of flour and they came off just fine, fresh outta the oven (i like to eat them warm AND i have a small oven so i had to use the same pan twice). Only thing i'll do next time is drizzle dark chocolate on top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karmesan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I have to say these tasted a lot better than the last Macaroon recipe I used from this site called "Coconut Macaroons", but the consistency was not right. I added extra coconut to try and help it, but they were way too soft & needed probably an extra 1/4 cup of flour and 1 cup of extra coconut. My egg whites were very large, that may be part of the reason, but still I think something needs to be adjusted. The flavor was very good though, I dipped them in dark chocolate, and for some I drizzled it over the top. I have to say WITH modifications I will consider making this again, but for the recipe on it's own, I have to give it 3 stars....sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by JellyJr
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I used a half cup more of sweetened coconut (slightly toasted beforehand), 1/4 cup less of sugar, 1/4 tsp baking powder in lieu of cream of tartar, and baked on wax paper. I topped them with melted 85% cocoa extra dark chocolate, which gave a nice dark contrast to the sweet lightness of the macaroon itself. :) Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made these yesterday for a neighbor's BBQ. Most of the guests were older and have a better appreciation for this classic cookie. They loved my macaroons. They turned out great, but I did use wax paper like suggested and tehy were tricky to get off the wax paper. I will try to grease the cookie sheet next time. I also used sweeted coconut and used only a half cup of sugar and they were perfectly sweet (at least to my palette) I will make these again really soon, maybe for the Mother in Law. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lan Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States