Farm Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Gosh, I hate to say this but I'm an experienced baker and I had trouble getting the large size crust that the recipe calls for. I ended up putting the crust in a smaller cake pan. Also, I had special ordered from back East, spy apples as in my experience this is the best apple for baking. However, it seems they cook up faster than others, as in 50 minutes my apples were too mushy. So, would I make this again. I just don't have the energy and a basic apple pie is faster. I did substitute some lemon juice to add to the xxxx sugar and I think that's preferable to the vanilla. Adds a hint of tartness. Good luck to everyone who tries this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Hoping the pie itself turns out better than the crust, ended up scratching the crust and using my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
SERVED THIS FOR THANKSGIVING DESSERT & IT GOT RAVING REVIEWS FROM THE FAMILY--IT WAS LARGE ENOUGH SO EVERYONE GOT A PIECE OF PIE--WE SERVED IT WARM A LA MODE!! MIXED ALL THE CRUST INGREDIENTS USING MY KITCHEN AID WITH THE DOUGH HOOK WHICH WAS VERY EASY--TO DO THE BIG BOTTOM CRUST, PUSHED PARCHMENT IN 15 x 10 PAN TO CREASE SIDE EDGES AS A GUIDE FOR SIZE, THEN ROLLED OUT DOUGH ONTO PARCHMENT LARGER TO HAVE AN OVERHANG & RETURNED IT TO PAN LEAVING PARCHMENT TO LINE PAN, THEN ALSO ROLLED TOP CRUST ONTO PARCHMENT & IT WAS EASY TO TRANSFER CRUST ONTO TOP! WILL DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN ESPECIALLY WHEN SEVERAL SERVINGS ARE NEEDED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I love this pie! I made two pans for family members on Sunday. They raved about it. The one thing I learned about making the crust, you must use solid shortening. Please do not use liquid the crust becomes too wet and hard to handle. I plan to make again soon. Thank you Brenda for sharing this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is one super recipe. It is difficult to roll all that pastry for a large pan so I usually use 2 - 8 inch square pans and that makes life a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
This is an AWESOME recipe! I take it to most pot-lucks that I go to and everyone raves about it. I am not very good at rolling out pie crust to begin with, and do have some problems getting this monster crust on this, but I have solved the problem by making a little extra dough, so I don't have to roll it out so thin. I also add about a teaspoon of freshly ground nutmeg and a dash of cloves for a little extra flavor. There is way too much frosting for my taste, so I cut the frosting in half, drizzle it, and then add a few sprinkels of cinnamon sugar before the frosting sets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I had my hardest time working with the dough. I finally gave up and threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
Crust was very easy to roll. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States