Farina Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
We have fixed this recipe to read 1/3 cup of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Made with brown rice farina for a gf recipe. These have a lightly sweet flavor with a bit of a crunch, probably due to the brown rice farina I used. My kids love them and they also satisfied my sweet craving on a warm summer day! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie's Belly
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I enjoyed these as breakfast bars, snack bars, and dessert. Having a 13 x 9 pan of them was a bit much for two people, hence my need to modify them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie's Belly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
These bars are a good way to use Cream of Wheat. The recipe was modified to say 1/3 cup honey and I used cinnamon instead of cardamom ( I didn't have any). These taste very good and are more healthy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
My family and I love this recipe. I used cinnamon instead of the cardamom, some lemon juice instead of the lemon zest, used 2 eggs instead of 4 egg whites and doubled the coconut. It was very moist and had a mild flavor. Best of all...we know it's healthy! Yum! People have already asked for the recipe after trying some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I will make this again, and again. The basic bars can be flavored many ways. I stuck to the lemon zest, but next time I think I'll add cranberries or raisins.I only used the 1/3 cup of honey to make it more diabetic friendly, and it was just slightly sweet.I also substituted allspice or the cardamom. They were very tasty as great snack or morning bar. I was lazy and added my almonds to the top of the bars turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMcLellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Not sure why I didn't like these, maybe it was texture that put me off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
These cookies were not very good at all. They were dry and overpowered by the spice. The recipe called for 1/3 tsp. of honey (did it mean to say 1/3 cup of honey?) They were not sweet at all as fortold in the description.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The flavor wasn't too bad, it was interesting with the lemon and cardamom but it was just way way too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Way too dry; very little flavor (lemon zest was not enough). Looking for a way to use a box of Farina, but this was not it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States