Farfalle Special Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Love, love. After reading the comments about the dish being dry from several people, I decided to double the sauce ingredients and use a full lb of pasta. Worked perfect for us, we like to have plenty of sauce. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
We have an italian resturant in town that makes this and I was looking for how to make it. I did substitute a couple things to what I had on hand. I cooked the murshrooms, onion, and bacon and when they were cooked I added about 2 tbs of flour before adding milk, since I didnt have cream. I let that heat up till thick while stiring and then added 2 oz of parmasian cheese. I also realized I didnt have tomato sauce, so I pureed a can of tomatoes and added a couple spoonfuls of that. It was very very good and tasted just like my fav restruant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Ok I loved it BUT NO ONE IN MY HOUSE LIKED IT. My husband said it was to dry the kids ALL four said it was dry. I made as is. I liked the sauce and thought it was a nice blend. Well I might make for myself but with the cost of the cheese needed for the recipe probably not often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
wow! so good! I omitted the butter & substituted 1 can of condensed milk instead of heavy cream, used 5 strips of bacon, 5 oz. of gorgonzola(didn't have roquefort), and 8 oz of tomato sauce. I also added about 3 T. of flour just before adding the liquids-helped to thicken it up a bit. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carilynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
best dish to date.. my husband and i loved this and it didn't take much time or effort. i did however use tomato paste (with 1 can water) instead of the sauce because thats all i had. i used parm cheese instead of the cheese it called for and it came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
very good! Added extra butter since i used turkey bacon. my eight year old cleaned his plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I'm making this again this week because its so delicious. I made exactly to recipe and wouldnt change a thing. Oh I used gorgonzola so I guess that's not exactly to recipe. This sauce is 'sop-it-up-with-your-bread' good. You've gotta give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittychan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I loved this recipe. I had to substitute Gorgonzola for the Roquefort for lack of availability, but the Gorgonzola did great. Mushrooms, bacon, and onions are great in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made this last week and wasn't thrilled by it. I am not a huge fan of blue cheeses but thought I would try this anyway because I loved everything else in the recipe. The roquefort was too strong for me and I put in less than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
It was very good - nothing too special, but a nice change from the ordinary pasta. I used penne pasta. I didn't have the roquefort, so I used 1/4 cup mozarella and a bit of parmesan. I didn't have heavy cream, so I just used milk. I used some real bacon bits rather than pieces of bacon. I used about 1/2 cup of Trader Joes mushroom tomato sauce rather than opening up a can. At the end, I added the pasta to the sauce and mixed it all together rather than just topping the plain pasta. Basically, this was a recipe that was a good starting point and inspiration for what the meal became.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Farfalle with Giardiniera

See how pickled vegetables add big flavor to a simple, healthy pasta dish.

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States