Farfalle Pasta with Zucchini and Lemon-Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Agree with others this recipe needed a bit of a nudge; but there is beauty in simplicity. I think the flavor hinges on the quality of ingredients used. Specifically, the quality of the parmesan. Did not have basil, so used oregano (sparingly). Sauted the garlic, added some white wine once the cheese sauce was added to the garlic, then the pasta. Also, cooked the pasta in boiling water with a few chicken boullion cubes added. Used that to add to the sauce. Also, used a bit more pepper. Next time, will saute shallots and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Based on reviews, I made the following modifications: zested 2 lemons, reserved lemon juice and mixed with 1/3 pasta water, and instead of basil (did not have any), used 2 Tablespoons of pesto. I used the lemon juice/pasta water mixture to thin as desired. A stronger lemon flavor came through and the pesto added more body. I would also try using Asparagus next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Sounds delicious, but was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I just made the pasta--no veggies. The texture wasn't very good, and the flavor not quite there. I was expecting more lemon flavor, less ricotta flavor/texture of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I enjoyed making and eating this dish. I gathered every ingredient required, except for the mascarpone cheese. For that, I found a substitute using 4 oz. cream cheese, 3 T sour cream and 2 T heavy whipping cream. Also, I did not use the pasta cooking water in the sauce; I used just plain water instead. This recipe made a huge batch of pasta, so I froze some of it. I've since eaten the frozen leftovers, and they cooked up well in a little bit of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I thought this recipe was flat. It needs more flavor. I added goat cheese as a garnish, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Pretty good. I love zucchini and pasta and together, yum! It has a nice simple taste and not too cheesy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I wanted to give this a great rating because it sounded good but it really lacked something. After making it according to directions it tasted very bland. I added a pinch of nutmeg and some steamed broccoli. It helped a bit but it was still very bland. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gert S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I used lemon pepper & lemon juice in place of the lemon zest. I also added 1/2 red bell pepper & onion, 1 shallot, 1 tablespoon red pepper flakes & hint of lemon pepper in the veggie saute. The cheese sauce was way to thick so I added 1/4 cup of hot water to the mixture before blending it with the pasta. I also used 1/2 the box of pasta and sprinkled it with olive oil & s&p before blending everything together. It was very enjoyable!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States