Fantasy Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is my Christmas dish for all family get togethers, its awesome!! You can also substitute the semi-sweet chips with other flavors and make different kinds of fudge. I make white chocolate, peanut butter, butter scotch and even peppermint with just using the basic recipe and swapping out the chips. Also with the peppermint, I use peppermint extract instead of vanilla, it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
just made it last night and it turned out yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
If I may offer the following admonitions: 1. Pay attention to the cocoa content of your chocolate. The original recipe called for semi-sweet chocolate chips, which are 58% cocoa. Given that the recipe already calls for marshmallow cream and a high amount of granular sugar, this results in my opinion in an excessively sweet end product without enough distinctive flavour. Best use dark chocolate: Lindt 85% bars work very well and will give off a hint of that "cocoa dust" mouthfeel, but in the States you may have to settle for 70% chocolate. I have not yet tried 100% cocoa and am reluctant to do so due to the lack of emulsifiers (see below). 2. The original recipe called for 3 cups (600 g) of sugar and this will result in a texture slightly more brittle than what will come from the blend I have provided above. However, this also means that there is not quite enough emulsifier to overtake all the butter and you will likely see a few butter flakes on the final product. This might be fixed by reducing the butter content slightly; however, I am reluctant to do so as I am unsure by how much to reduce it without the milk overpowering the butter; experience has taught me that when the butter is not forcing the milk to put forth ALL its resources (I put in too much milk that time) into emulsion, the texture turns out slightly waxy. 3. Use salted butter in this recipe. Given the high sugar content of fudge, you really need salt to balance things out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This fudge recipe came out like hard candy. I followed the recipe and don't know if it was supposed to turn out like that but I didn't like it and won't be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is my most favorite fudge EVER! I make this every year and usually end up having to do several batches (all different flavors), to accommodate everyone's demand for it. I originally got the recipe from my mom who got it off of the marshmallow creme jar. It's wonderful and you will not be disappointed with this AT ALL! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Used Nestle semi-sweet chocolate chips and pecans. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I make this fudge EVERY Christmas and I had to find people to hand it off to because it's SO good and quite addictive. I make one variety with pecans and one with crushed candy canes, peppermint extract and Baker's white chocolate. Both are amazing and you really can't eat just one. I will pack this fudge in pretty plastic lidded containers with green or red tissue paper as a buffer. Everyone flips for it. Much more personal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly except doubling it. It turned out wonderful! Melt in your mouth, smooth, and creamy. Loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have been using this recipe for several years. The only difference is that the recipe I have you do everything in the microwave. I have misplaced my recipe so I guess I'll have to go to using the one you cook on the stove. If anyone has the microwave recipe let me know. If I find my recipe I will post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I love this recipe! It's easy and always turns out for me. And you can use pretty much any kind of chocolate chips or white chocolate chips and etc. Great recipe and has been my all time fave for 6 years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duncamy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States