Fantastic Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
'Probably better with frosting, but very good without; definitely better for you without. I reduced the oil by a T or 2, used all cinnamon (2t). For the pineapple, I measured a cup then drained it = about 3/4c. A moist & goodtasting snack cake. The carrots aren't very noticeable so could be a "good" one for kids. 'Looks just like the photo. Oh, a 10x14 is a jellyroll pan/cookie sheet. It baked about even with the riim. While I liked this, I doubt I'll make it again. It's quite a bit of prep time & dishwashing for a dish that really doesn't show it, if ya know what I mean. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Made as stated, Great moistness and the family loved them, including me. Although I think the title should be Fantastic Carrot Cake Bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This will be a definite 'go-to' for anytime of the year; thanks, Mindy! Try any or all of the options: 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 Tbs. orange zest (really adds!), 1/2 c. nuts, 1/4 c. coconut, 1/2 c. raisins or Craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by diva7
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Great bars, especially for my kids since its packed with things they won't normally eat ;). Mine were a little wet, though I think I should have drained the pineapple a little more. Didn't taste the pineapple much though and could use more spice for my taste. I substituted half the oil with applesauce and half the flour with whole wheat flour to make even healthier. Overall great recipe and I will likely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These are very dense, and wonderful. They freeze well. I made in two 9x9 pans and froze one. We did not frost them, just sprinkled powder sugar on prior to serving them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb from Northfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Awesome recipe! Have made this twice now and eveyone loves it. I also ended up using a 9x13 inch pan because that was the largest I had on hand. Comes out just like carrot cake. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Bars taste fantastic! Very quick and easy recipe! I used a little over a 1/2 cup of oil and the bars still turned out very moist. Will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Maybe it was because I used egg substitute, but mine needed to be cooked a lot longer. Maybe putting the batter in two pans would have made mine firmer also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is a good, moist recipe. I used this recipe and made muffins instead - the baking time was the same. Without the icing, these are quite tasteless, though - mild carrot taste, mild pumpkin taste, and you can barely taste the pineapple but you can see them in there! Maybe because there are so many good ingredients - they cancel each other out??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My co-workers, family, and friends all loved it! Awesome recipe.. not too sweet or overpowering. I did add a little bit of lemon juice to the frosting so it wouldn't taste like straight sugar haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States