Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Wonderful, easy, and lowfat, to boot! I added 1 tsp. salt, and 1 tsp. cumin, too. Serve with cornbread...mmmmmm. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
Very good! Even better if you simmer the chili for over an hour. I used a bit of olive oil when cooking the onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
It was a great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I mixed kidney beans with the black beans and threw in a small can of corn because I didn't have enough black beans. I spiced it up with some cayenne and red pepper. It is easy to prepare and especially delicious as left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Yum! I used one can of black beans with jalepenos (and two cans regular black beans) and used tomatoes and green chiles for the crushed tomatoes. Also used a total of 2 T chili powder and 2 t cumin and a couple of dashes of hot sauce (Blair's Death Sauce). Then we were worried it might be too spicy for the party we were bringing it too, so we threw in a little can of corn to cut it a little. Sooo good-- great taste, great texture. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Really great! Big fan of black beans and always looking for new recipes. We used cubed left-over turkey from Holiday dinner instead ogf the ground type. Tasted great and had more texture. We used homemade tomatoe puree/juice to make more liquid. Also added more chili powder, brown rice and frozen corn to make it go farther. Served with cornbread and hot sauce. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I found this recipe to be as fantastic as the name. It is quick, easy, filling without stuffing and real comfort food for a cold day. As other reviewers have stated the options for this recipe are endless. I, also, served it with a honey cornbread that I made quickly and easily from a box mix. This will be a regular and one that I send to friends. Thank you for this recipe. And many others I still have to try. Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I doubled the recipe and added one each diced red and green bell peppers. After adding one teaspoon each of cumin, cayenne and hot red pepper flakes, I had a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
This chili recipe is great and my family loved it. Even my kids, who don't normally like chili liked it's flavor and texture. This one will be a great addition to your cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
My husband liked this recipe even better than our "standard" chili. I usually don't care much for chili, but I liked the idea of the black beans and it was delicious! I added a little bit of olive oil to the onions and garlic and added about a tablespoon of cumin. Everything is better with cumin :). I used lean ground beef instead of turkey, but I doubt that changed the flavor much. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States