Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
This was delicious and EASY. I used 1.3 lbs of ground turkey. I, too, increased the crushed tomatoes to 28 oz., added 1/2 T. cumin and some jalepeno and chipotle peppers. I cooked the onion, garlic and turkey in a saute pan, then transferred the mixture to a crockpot (so I didn't have to tend to it) and added the other ingredients. It cooked on high for an hour and a half and was ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This recipe is a definte 5 stars!! I followed the other reviewers suggestions and used a 28 ounce can of tomatos,1.5 lbs of turkey and 1/2 a teaspoon of cumin. It was excellent but not spicy enough for my liking, so I added another 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and a tablespoon of crused red pepper. It was perfect!!! This is something I will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This was the best new recipe I have tried in a long time. If you own a can opener you can make this dish. I read the other reviews and took what sounded good from those. I used 28 oz of tomatoes, 2 cans black beans, 1 can pinto beans with jalapenos, and 1 can of corn. I also added 1 tbl cumin and 1 tsp red pepper flakes. This mixture and amount of spice was perfect for us. My husband and I both LOVED this dish. He ranted for days about how good it was. I served it with sweet cornbread, and topped it with a little shredded cheese and sour cream .... YUMMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Awesome recipe... the kids actually asked for leftovers for lunch the next day... high praise from my family! Extra note: second time I made it, I put it in the crockpot on low for 4 hours - much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This is a great base recipe for our taste. As any good cook knows, you take a basic recipe and adapt it to the seasonings you like or love. Ground turkey is bland so I also added the cumin--about 2 tablespoons as we LOVE the flavor, and used ground oregano--about 2 teaspoons to a pound of raw turkey. If you use ground turkey breast it may be necessary to add 1-2 T. oil to brown it if to dry. I love to simmer meat and seasonings in a bit of fatless chicken broth until tender then add the rest and simmer for 10+ minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Following other the reviewers' suggestion, I used almost an entire 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes (not 14 oz) and it worked great! I also added a can of corn and garnished the finished product with grated cheddar cheese. Also, I used 1.5 lbs. ground turkey and found that this was the exact right amount of meat. This chili was a big hit at my last dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is a nice change from regular chili. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes along with a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis to add a little kick. It seemed to take care of the problem of the recipe not having enough spices (that others have complained about). I also added cumin because I love it and I used ground beef only because that's what I had. I also used balsamic vinegar in place of the wine because that's also what I had. All in all, I loved it and so did my family. Give it a try:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
Very good! Even better if you simmer the chili for over an hour. I used a bit of olive oil when cooking the onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was very good chili. Only made minor changes... omitted onion, doubled tomatoes, added a can each of green chilis and whole kernel corn, and added a bit of cumin to the meat when it was browning. I added extra chili powder, a few shakes of crushed red pepper, and a healthy dose of black pepper because the oregano seemed a bit overwhelming. Very good, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Wonderful, easy, and lowfat, to boot! I added 1 tsp. salt, and 1 tsp. cumin, too. Serve with cornbread...mmmmmm. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States