Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
Very good! Even better if you simmer the chili for over an hour. I used a bit of olive oil when cooking the onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
It was a great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
16 guys went up to Wisconsin for our anual broomball outing. We made enough for 30 servings the night before, and ate the entire 5 gallons of chili the next day. We have been eating a different recipe every year. However, next year we will repeat this one because it was so well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
This recipe was easy to make. I was a little nervous about using ground turkey, but it tasted just like ground beef -- couldn't tell the difference. I added a green pepper, 2 t of cumin and 1 1/2 T of chili powder to spice it up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I don't care for chili but loved this one! Delicious! Definately worth trying and so easy too. Great way to impress a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This recipe was good! I doubled it and noticed it was a bit thick and not too much liquid but after re-reading the recipe, I realized that I drained and rinsed the black beans instead of adding them undrained. DUH!! So the recipe would have been even better if I'd followed directions! HE HE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I simmered the chili for an hour, sampled it, and found it bland. I added garlic powder, red pepper flakes, season salt, black pepper, and a bit of cumin to perk it up. After a day of refrigeration, it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I mixed kidney beans with the black beans and threw in a small can of corn because I didn't have enough black beans. I spiced it up with some cayenne and red pepper. It is easy to prepare and especially delicious as left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Yum! I used one can of black beans with jalepenos (and two cans regular black beans) and used tomatoes and green chiles for the crushed tomatoes. Also used a total of 2 T chili powder and 2 t cumin and a couple of dashes of hot sauce (Blair's Death Sauce). Then we were worried it might be too spicy for the party we were bringing it too, so we threw in a little can of corn to cut it a little. Sooo good-- great taste, great texture. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Really great! Big fan of black beans and always looking for new recipes. We used cubed left-over turkey from Holiday dinner instead ogf the ground type. Tasted great and had more texture. We used homemade tomatoe puree/juice to make more liquid. Also added more chili powder, brown rice and frozen corn to make it go farther. Served with cornbread and hot sauce. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States