Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very uncomplicated but very tasty. I've made many chilis that were far more complex, but few have been more pleasing to the taste buds. This one is a definite crowd pleaser! My only suggestion is to add the spices to the turkey (after most of the grease has been drained off) while it's browning, so they're captured mostly by the meat, rather than the tomatoes. The second (and third, and fourth...) time I made it, I added red pepper flakes for some extra zing, but only because my family likes their chili to be fiery, not because it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
First time making chili. And this wasn't that bad - actually good. If I could give it 3.5 stars, I would. First, I didn't follow the recipe to the letter. I added an extra 14.5 oz can of tomatoes (total 28 oz), I added a TBSP of Cumin, I added a BUNCH more chili pepper till I found the heat to a level I liked. I think probably 2 TBSP of chili pepper. Way to go here is cayenne pepper though. Chili pepper doesn't have enough heat for me. I also minced up fresh garlic and sauteed that with the onion. Then I added beef instead of turkey. Finally, I added 2 packets of Goya Sazon seasoning. I like my chili a little more "brown" and meaty. Not red and tangy. This is plenty spicy and the tomatos are definitely in there but I think the meat and beans should be the stars with tomatoes a close 3rd. Lastly, I cooked this in a crock pot for about 6 hours. And it was pretty good in my book. Also - it tastes MUCH better the next day. Pretty simple chili to cook in a crock pot. Cut up some onion and garlic, brown that up with some meat, open a few cans, and let it cook in the crock pot while you are at work and you have a pretty good chili when you get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Mmmmm! This is a rich, flavorful, and hearty chili. I really liked the spices- I added a little cumin to the meat as some others suggested and it was just great. I used only two cans of beans and added some stewed tomatoes, which I would definitely recommend. Topped with sour cream and shredded cheese- thanks for the delicious, healthy dish that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
With a few changes this could be 5 stars. Changes: 2 cans black beans, 2 cans diced tomatoes and added cumin because you just need cumin in chili. Great, healthy chili option. Really enjoyed!! Also sauteed onion and garlic then added turkey with cumin to cook and then put everything in the crock pot to cook all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Very light and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I just made this chilli it was good i did not have the fresh onion and garlic so i used dehydrated ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I shared this with my family and the just LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I didn't have red wine vinegar, I used balsamic instead, also added cumin and coriander. The balsamic vinegar gave it a hearty smoky flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Yes - simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States