Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good start. Next time I will increase spices and salt - specifically cumin. Will also add chili peppers. If you like spicy foods, use this as a base and dress it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is currently in my crockpot. I did use ground chicken because I picked it up by mistake instead of turkey. I browned it with the onion and garlic and then added everything to the crockpot. Others suggested adding cumin and I like cumin so that went in. Set it on low and simmered for 3 hours. Since the meat was cooked when it went in, I tasted it. It needed a little doctoring for my taste. A small can of tomato paste and a teaspoon of garlic salt took care of it. (I used low sodium beans so it needed some salt. Needed a little more garlic for me also. That took care of it!) That and a loaf of home made bread...dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is the 1st time I've made chili, and this came out great. My variation (in addition to what is listed): 28 oz can of tomatoes, can o' corn, 1 tbs each of cumin, red pepper flakes, ancho and guajillo chili powder, 1/2 jalapeno, pinch of salt and pepper, and just 2 cans of black beans. Good heat, but not too much. And really easy to make. Will def make again. Thanks to the original poster:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Very good. Put the 14.5 oz can of crushed tomatoes and also added a 10 oz can of ro-tel. Great with Mont.Jack cheese, sour cream, and some jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I already have a meatless recipe for black bean chili, but I was looking for something different. This looked too simple to be great, but it was! I used half lean ground beef and half ground turkey breast instead of regular ground turkey. I loved it, my eldest devoured it, and my youngest liked it too. Husband was out of town, so no vote from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. Have made it several times. Try not to be too heavy on the Red Wine Vinegar though, it is powerful! I also use less turkey than called for (about half). You can even cut it in smaller portions when preparing and it simmers and tastes just the same. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Love this chili! Instead of using canned black beans, I used "Ivis' Black Beans" recipe from this site (which I had in my freezer) and beef chili meat instead of ground turkey (which I also had in my freezer). I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed because that was what I had in the pantry. I did add one can of tomato sauce as well. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Love this recipe! I am not a big bean fan, however I do like black beans. My husband loves this recipe too....we use ground goat meat. It's wonderful. Corn bread on the side and a little cheese on top. Great comfort food for this rainy wet weather we are having here on the east coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is my new favorite black bean chili recipe. Everyone loved it and said that it was the best yet. Also, it's really simple to make and requires very few basic ingredients. I made two tweaks though; 1) I added 1 tsp of ground cumin. 2) I used dried beans instead of canned. I soaked them overnight and cooked them alone for 60 minutes. I then drained them and continued with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souldad57

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The vinegar makes all the difference. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States