Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe. Have been searching for weeks. Per the reviews, I used what I had and added rotel tomatoes and corn; used ground beef; cumin, crushed red pepper, 2,cans pinto and 1 can pink beans; white wine since I had no RWV. I think it's a fabulous base recipe. Thank you for making my first chili experience a very tasty one! My 4 kids, husband, bad my very picky older sister had seconds and thirds. It sat overnight in fridge to infuse all flavors. Sieved with Fritos and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Easy and delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Nice and easy recipe. Tasty comfort food! I did add an equal amount of celery as the onions and sauteed them together. Additionally, our family likes the RWV kick and so I added an extra tbspn. Finally, if you like your chili with a thicker consistenc like we do, I added a small can of vegetarian refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a stand-by, realible recipe that can be tweaked to the ingredients you have on hand/your diners enjoy. My extra two cents: food process for those who have a hard time with chili because of the consistency. I dislike this recipe "chunky" and love it smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is my favorite chili recipe ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe had a very acidic taste when I attempted it, tried adding some brown sugar which didn't help, added a teaspoon of baking soda ( which I should have done first), it bubbles like crazy and looks like a science experiment, just keep stirring, it worked great. Chili tasted great after that. Not sure if the brown sugar was necessary, but probably since the recipe doesn't call for tomato sauce to sweeten it. I used lean ground turkey, the entire pot if you are counting calories was under 1600 calories. I also rinsed 2 of the cans of beans to help lower the salt content. Very filling and good after tweaking a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Wow what a great recipe...and SO easy to make. I did use Rotel Tomatoes (with Green Chiles) instead of the crushed and I also added Red Pepper flakes. I like the kick it gets. I simmered for 2 hours and when it cooled, the thickness was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good start. Next time I will increase spices and salt - specifically cumin. Will also add chili peppers. If you like spicy foods, use this as a base and dress it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is currently in my crockpot. I did use ground chicken because I picked it up by mistake instead of turkey. I browned it with the onion and garlic and then added everything to the crockpot. Others suggested adding cumin and I like cumin so that went in. Set it on low and simmered for 3 hours. Since the meat was cooked when it went in, I tasted it. It needed a little doctoring for my taste. A small can of tomato paste and a teaspoon of garlic salt took care of it. (I used low sodium beans so it needed some salt. Needed a little more garlic for me also. That took care of it!) That and a loaf of home made bread...dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is the 1st time I've made chili, and this came out great. My variation (in addition to what is listed): 28 oz can of tomatoes, can o' corn, 1 tbs each of cumin, red pepper flakes, ancho and guajillo chili powder, 1/2 jalapeno, pinch of salt and pepper, and just 2 cans of black beans. Good heat, but not too much. And really easy to make. Will def make again. Thanks to the original poster:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States