Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is an awesome chilli - my guys didn't even notice the difference between a regular beef chilli and the turkey! I added a can of tomato sauce and doubled the tomatoes. Also, I used one can of black beans and added white kidney beans and some chopped red peppers. Next time I will add a bit of spice via red pepper flakes or jalapeno peppers for a bit of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Aha! When I was making this I thought it needed more tomatoes so I added a second can. Then I read the reviews and it seems that others felt the same way. Instead of simmering it on the stove I put this in the crock pot for a few hours. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very nice! This was a pleasant change to the usual ground beef chili. Like other reviewers, I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Because I didn't have basil or oregano at the time, I had to use Italian seasonings (which had a lot of marjoram in it). It still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Makes a very hearty meal. Was told "must make again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFlorea30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
We loved this recipe! I made a few simple adjustments (many based on other reviewers). I only added two cans of beans and drained one of them. I didn't have crushed tomatoes so I used 2 cans of diced. I added an 8oz can of tomato sauce and about 2-3tbsp of tomato paste. Also added cumin and ground red pepper. SO good and so easy. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was wonderful. Used diced ham instead of turkey. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a savory & delicious chili (not spicy). I've been making this for years and it's always a hit. I use only 2 cans of black beans and double the amount of crushed tomatoes to 28 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very good. I used ground beef instead of ground turkey and added can of green chili peppers. That gave it a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This chili recipe was pretty good. I doubled the recipe and made a few changes. I added one can of Del Monte Diced Tomatoes with Green Chiles and only used 2 cans of black beans and two cans of kidney beans in chili sauce. Otherwise I kept everything the same. I'll be freezing most of it and hopefully it taste just as good when I use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Hengen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I've never tried another recipe for chili other than my own, but my family loved this one. I did make some adjustments to the seasoning due to personal taste and we served it over rice. This is my new to-go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States