Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I tried this today and made a couple of adjustments. I purchased a packaged of Walmart's MILD chili seasoning packet, added 28oz can can crushed tomatoes with basil, 1 med can tomatoe sauce and used 2 large VIDALLIA onions. Did not use the red wine vinegar, chili powder oregano or basil leaves, since the seasons were in the packet. I used a 20oz package of ground turkey. My Mom loved it. Mades a lot of chili!!. She took some home, and we gave some to a lady who is unemployed and still have enough for me!! OH!! I cooked it in my crock pot (6 QT) on low for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Turner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
So yummy! Didn't really change anything other than I did add an extra can of black beans. With the 1 pound of meat it just seemed overly meaty...the extra can of beans made it more balances. We put this in the slow cooker for the day. It was even better the next day! I think this would be really good with shredded chicken breast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I used two cans pinto beans, one can navy beans instead of black beans. Tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
very good! added a teaspoon of cumin and an extra can of tomatoes...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This Chili was excellent!!! I'm one of those people that don't like when others change a recipe, but... I had to have some corn, so I added corn and sliced jalapeno peppers. But that was it! I can't wait to make it again. My family thought this would also be good in a tortilla with rice. Yum :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was great after I customized it by using olive oil additional chili powder less oregano more basil and salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is an awesome chilli - my guys didn't even notice the difference between a regular beef chilli and the turkey! I added a can of tomato sauce and doubled the tomatoes. Also, I used one can of black beans and added white kidney beans and some chopped red peppers. Next time I will add a bit of spice via red pepper flakes or jalapeno peppers for a bit of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Aha! When I was making this I thought it needed more tomatoes so I added a second can. Then I read the reviews and it seems that others felt the same way. Instead of simmering it on the stove I put this in the crock pot for a few hours. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very nice! This was a pleasant change to the usual ground beef chili. Like other reviewers, I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Because I didn't have basil or oregano at the time, I had to use Italian seasonings (which had a lot of marjoram in it). It still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Makes a very hearty meal. Was told "must make again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFlorea30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States