Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Yummy...this is not only a very filling meal but also a healthy one! I followed the recipe exactly except I used cooking spray instead of vegetable oil and doubled the crushed tomatoes. I made sure to use LEAN ground turkey because it's much lower in fat and calories than regular. It tastes even better as leftovers. It got a bit thick in the fridge, so I added a little water before reheating the next day. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This recipe was super easy. I did, however, take some suggestions from other reviewers and doubled the amount of crushed tomatoes (2 cans of 14.5 oz), used only 2 cans of black beans, and used 1 1/2 pounds of ground white turkey. I left out the basil leaves since I did not have any on hand, but it tasted great. We topped it with cheese and sour cream and, unfortunately, ate it while we watched the Bears lose to the Packers! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
My family loved this so much it's now become one of our cold weather favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
It was good however I added some green peppers and chili peppers to the mix. This added a bit more fire to the pot. Leftovers where great or cook it a day ahead and let it everything mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My 10yr old son said it's better than fantastic! Super easy to make and oh so yummy! I used 1.5 pounds ground turkey and added 1T cumin while browning it. I also took the suggestion to use a 28oz can of tomatoes. I've made this twice and it is healthy and fabulous with crusty bread. Leftovers are great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I had never had nor made chili before and this was absolutely fantastic and a hit at the pot luck I took it too. I didn't follow it exactly, but still easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeshaka

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Needs a little spice next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I tried this today and made a couple of adjustments. I purchased a packaged of Walmart's MILD chili seasoning packet, added 28oz can can crushed tomatoes with basil, 1 med can tomatoe sauce and used 2 large VIDALLIA onions. Did not use the red wine vinegar, chili powder oregano or basil leaves, since the seasons were in the packet. I used a 20oz package of ground turkey. My Mom loved it. Mades a lot of chili!!. She took some home, and we gave some to a lady who is unemployed and still have enough for me!! OH!! I cooked it in my crock pot (6 QT) on low for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Turner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
So yummy! Didn't really change anything other than I did add an extra can of black beans. With the 1 pound of meat it just seemed overly meaty...the extra can of beans made it more balances. We put this in the slow cooker for the day. It was even better the next day! I think this would be really good with shredded chicken breast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I used two cans pinto beans, one can navy beans instead of black beans. Tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States