Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was a hit. I changed very little. I also used Rotel tomatoes instead of crushed. It added a little heat which we liked. To make it fabulous, after I cook the turkey and heat all the other ingredients through, I put it in the crock pot for a few hours. It really blends all the flavors well. My husband asks for this all the time. Plus it's not that bad for us. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very tasty. I also added cumin. Topped with fresh cilantro leaves and chunks of avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimamy98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indian Hills, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This recipe is GREAT and a real hit with our family. One change I made was to use balsamic vinegar instead of the red wine vinegar. The balsamic vinegar gives it a real earthy flavor. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Decent chili. Not the best I've had, but I was able to use ingrediants I had on hand. I used twice the tomatoes and only 2 cans of black beans. I also spiced up the turkey with a teaspoon of Cumin. I agree that it could have used more seasoning. Using a dollop of light sour cream and light cheddar cheese tops the dish off well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
great! added 1/2 teas cumin - additional 1/2 teas. chilli powder - pepper flakes - and instead of 3 cans of black beans I did one can black beans, one can pinto beans and one can corn. use 20 oz. turkey and 28 oz. crushed tomatoes. everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I've never been a fan of turkey chili because they all seemed to too polite. This recipe changed that. In my version, I added 1/2 T. more chili powder, about 1/2 T. gd. cumin, and, for some smoky kick, 1 1/2 T. chopped chipotle in adobo. Next time, I will add the beans later because after simmering 60+ minutes, canned beans start to turn to mush. Like most chili recipes, this one can be customized to suit differing tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The best black bean chili ever!! I used grass fed ground beef in place of the turkey and a dash of cumin. The wine vinegar is the secret I think as it enhances all the flavors! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Venus-Fenrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Litchfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I love chili and I love Black Beans ... turkey, onions and garlic too. This dish was a grand thud ... no kick, no dicernible flavor other than black bean. I added crushed re: pepper flakes to salvage it ... it added bite but it was an after affect kick. Afterwards I laughed at how so tasteless a chili could have me perspire (after adding the pepper) so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The chili is absolutely fantastic in every way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States