Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This has become my teenage boy's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Thought the recipe could do with more tomatoes and less beans, so only added 1 can of beans and added 1 and a half cans of tomato. Also used less oregano because when I was weighing it out it looked like too much and added a bit of cream and sugar to smooth out the flavour. It was a hit with my family! My kids are very picky eaters and they had seconds and thirds! This is such an easy recipe, I will definitely be making it again. Just a note, I made this for 6 people and even though none of us had enormous helpings it was all gone by the end of dinner (and we are a family of five).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have to admit that I didn't follow the recipe as written as I didn't have some of the ingredients. I sauted onions and garlic and then added 2 cans of black beans (I thought 3 would be too much), I then added about 1 1/2 cups of homeade pasta sauce and leftover ground beef from the night before along w/ basil,oregano,chili powder and salt. It was very yummy, my picky 4yo said it was the best chili she has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
First time ever making chili, tried this recipe and was delicious!! Added cumin,and did pinto, black and red beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
For whatever reason - the abundance of black beans, the healthiness of ground turkey, the ease of this recipe - I LOVE it! It has become one of my mainstays. The only thing I have added is 1 T of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I used fresh beans, Tomatoes and a little bit of cumin, other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spanishflor <3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I tossed most of it - did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is an amazing Chili. My family absolutely adores this one. I pulled back on the oregano some because it was too strong. I am thrilled with the demand that is now there for me to make this Chili. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This recipe made a pretty good chili. I substituted turkey for diced tri-tip (about 2/3 lb), and used 1 can of black, and 1 can of pinto beans. All other quantities remained as stated in the recipe. I like this recipe because it excludes cumin - a favorite of mine, but not shared universally at our house. While I generally prefer a heavier chili (with cumin), this recipe still brings a distinctively chili flavor and is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States