Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very tasty, love it with a 1/2 tsp of cumin added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Easy, healthy, but tastes just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I won my work chili cookoff with this recipe. I use Rotel, mild, unless you like it unbearable, use all Hot. I also increased the tomatoes, 4 total cans of Rotel, 3 mild, 1 hot. I cook in a slow cooker on high for 3-4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I cooked the dish and had it for dinner as soon as it cooked for the 1 hour 30 minutes, I thought the red wine vinager was too overpowering then. I warmed it up the next day for lunch and it was wonderful! I think it must be one of those soups that are better to cook them and wait to they are cooled down then put them in the refridgerator all night and they are much better the next day. Will be making this recioe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgangary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Great, easy recipe. I added canned corn and only used two cans of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
We eat a lot of chili and I really like this recipe. I make a few changes to suit our tastes: I double the meat and blend the can of tomatoes because we don't like chunky tomatoes in our chili. I add 1 1/2 tsp of Chipotle Chili powder (in addition to regular Chili Powder) plus 1 or 2 finely diced fresh jalapenos. The Chipotle powder gives it a richer, smokier taste. I usually add a chopped red or orange sweet pepper. The secret to this (for me) is simmering it for a long time so the flavors meld. This is a super simple recipe that people love. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This IS fantastic....so easy...so quick....the flavors are wonderful together! I used 28oz can of tomatoes rather than the smaller can...and 1TB of cumin along w/red pepper to your liking...hubby really enjoyed and my 2 yr old loves it over rice...I love serving him something so healthy! Thank you Rebecca for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This has become my teenage boy's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Thought the recipe could do with more tomatoes and less beans, so only added 1 can of beans and added 1 and a half cans of tomato. Also used less oregano because when I was weighing it out it looked like too much and added a bit of cream and sugar to smooth out the flavour. It was a hit with my family! My kids are very picky eaters and they had seconds and thirds! This is such an easy recipe, I will definitely be making it again. Just a note, I made this for 6 people and even though none of us had enormous helpings it was all gone by the end of dinner (and we are a family of five).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have to admit that I didn't follow the recipe as written as I didn't have some of the ingredients. I sauted onions and garlic and then added 2 cans of black beans (I thought 3 would be too much), I then added about 1 1/2 cups of homeade pasta sauce and leftover ground beef from the night before along w/ basil,oregano,chili powder and salt. It was very yummy, my picky 4yo said it was the best chili she has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States