Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I tossed most of it - did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is an amazing Chili. My family absolutely adores this one. I pulled back on the oregano some because it was too strong. I am thrilled with the demand that is now there for me to make this Chili. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This recipe made a pretty good chili. I substituted turkey for diced tri-tip (about 2/3 lb), and used 1 can of black, and 1 can of pinto beans. All other quantities remained as stated in the recipe. I like this recipe because it excludes cumin - a favorite of mine, but not shared universally at our house. While I generally prefer a heavier chili (with cumin), this recipe still brings a distinctively chili flavor and is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
very good! i added cubed chicken breast instead of ground, added some jalepenos. put 2c dry beans in crock pot with 5c water and a tsp corn starch for 4 hours high. add rest of cooked ingredients and do 4 more hours at high. i also added some canned tomatoes with green chiles instead of crushed. also added some blackened chicken seasoning found on allrecipes. served with toasted garlic bread with melted cheddar and a dollop of sour cream set directly on top of the serving. yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I used this recipe, but didnt use canned black beans. I cooked some myself. I modified the recipe with these changes: 1. Doubled chili powder to 3 tbsp, and added 1/4 tbsp hot chili powder. 2. Used ground chicken instead of turkey 3. Added 1/2 tbsp cumin 4. Added 1/4 tbsp paprika 5. Since I used my own beans, I added 1/2 cup of tomato sauce 6. For crushed tomatoes, used 2 10 oz cans of Ro-Tel tomatoes. Use hot or mild for your taste. 7. Used EVOO instead of veggie oil. This makes a nice spicy chili, as well as the extra chili powder cuts the tart taste of the tomato sauce and the vinegar. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I'm giving this a 3 instead of a 2 because my husband liked it. I felt that the oregano and basil were way too overpowering. I think it needed more chili powder, and half of the other herbs. Not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
haven't tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
pretty tasty! I put the browned meat and onions into the crock pot with the rest of the ingredients and let it cook on high for 2 hours. Served over the Sweet Cornbread recipe on this site. Just wished for some more spice to it. Next time I'll add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Easy, hearty dinner! I made it last night and it was a hit. I added a lot of extra chili powder because it was a little bland at first and used the 1.3 lbs of turkey. Served with french bread and it was perfect. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Delicious! First time making black bean chili. I did tweak it though. I used Rotel tomatoes and apple cider vinegar because that's what I had on hand. I topped it with shredded cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOWLEROPOLIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States