Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was very yummy! I did not have crushed tomatoes so used petite diced tomatoes as a substitute. Made mine three bean (black beans, kidney beans and red beans) and used chopped up smoked sausage in place of the ground meat. Came out delicious definitely added to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Made this once, though I substituted ground turkey for real beef, and couldn't find black beans so I used pinto, also made a spicy batch with some franks srriracha sauce and jalapeno peppers. Was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evan Tatay-Hinds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was the best chili I have ever made. I didn't use as much chili powder, but this recipe was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Added corn and cayenne pepper. Ground turkey was bland. Next time use turkey sausage instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have made this recipe a few different times. It is a good basic recipe. My family prefers meat over beans (and I like beef over turkey), so I used 2lbs ground beef and only 1 can of black beans. I also used 28oz of crushed tomatoes as other reviewers have mentioned. I didn't add cumin because I didn't have it, although I believe it would be a good addition. I did add a few pinches of sea salt as it tastes a bit bland if you don't in my opinion. It has a good taste but is definitely not hot which is ok with me because the kids will eat it. My husband adds tobacco to his to add heat. I have made this when I was in a hurry and it is good but it definitely tastes better the longer you let it simmer. :) I would recommend giving it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Made a couple of modifications based on other reviews. We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
We really enjoyed this in my house. The crushed tomatoes made for a great flavor and consistency - previously I used diced varieties. I added peppers for a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Good basic turkey chili. Great for a base to customize to your liking for sure. Not the best ever but pretty good and easy for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
What great recipe,I love that is fast and easy to make.I have little ones so a I used a packet of mild chili seasoning,I just added sriracha hot chili sauce to my servings lol.I also added red and green bell peppers,more garlic,cumin, a little sugar,and the vinegar is a must,it brings out the flavor in the beans which I only used 2 cans.I use vinegar whenever I make black beans! I didn't have cornbread so I used Pillsbury Butter Flake Crescent Rolls,and omg was it delish..I'm happy I didn't have cornbread..please try them with the chili..it's delish!!!!Btw Yes YOU WILL NEED A 28OZ can of tomatoes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uniquenique2002

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Excellent blend of spices with both the chili and herb flavors. One thing to keep in mind is not all chili powder is the same blend of spices. Mine had oregano in addition to the added oregano. I grow fresh basil and oregano. My dinner came out slightly strong on the oregano, but was still very good. We enjoy green chilies, so I added that as well. Next time I will put the ingredients in a crock pot on low to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States