Fantastic Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This recipe turned out really well for us, I made a small variation from everyone else but ultimately used the other reviews to "doctor" up my dish! I didn't have any ground turkey on hand so in place I used 1 lb ground bison. Instead of red wine vinegar, I used 1/2 Tbls apple cider vinegar. Then from other recommendations: 10 oz can rotel tomatoes with green peppers, 14.5 oz can chopped tomatoes, 1 tsp cumin, 1 onion diced, 1 very large garlic clove, 1 1/2 Tbls oregano, 1 Tbls basil. I had made black beans on the stove the previous day so I used 1 3/4 cups from that in place of the canned beans. I did have to add 1 tsp of salt i'm not sure if this was because of the bison or what but it made it taste much better. I really wanted to add the corn but didn't have any on hand, I literally just used what was in the kitchen since we are on a tight budget and with that being said, this was a delicious "I have no idea what to make and we're broke" type of dinner. We topped it off with cheese, crackers/corn bread. Not to mention, healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Delgado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Easy and very delicious. I didn't have dried basil, and subbed with dried parsley. Only had 1/2 pound of grass fed organic ground beef, so I used that. Also added some chicken stock to deglaze. Topped with cheddar cheese and sour cream and had it with organic corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Great way to start a black bean chili. I added some beer, cumin, Worcestershire sauce, and some sugar. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Also took other's advice and added other ingredients,I see chili in a new way!!!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was marvelous! I instead made it a three bean chili with black, kidney and red beans. I had some breakfast sausage and added it to the pot too. My whole family loves this topped with shredded colby jack cheese over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiki

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Made this once, though I substituted ground turkey for real beef, and couldn't find black beans so I used pinto, also made a spicy batch with some franks srriracha sauce and jalapeno peppers. Was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evan Tatay-Hinds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was the best chili I have ever made. I didn't use as much chili powder, but this recipe was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granny Kat Grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Added corn and cayenne pepper. Ground turkey was bland. Next time use turkey sausage instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have made this recipe a few different times. It is a good basic recipe. My family prefers meat over beans (and I like beef over turkey), so I used 2lbs ground beef and only 1 can of black beans. I also used 28oz of crushed tomatoes as other reviewers have mentioned. I didn't add cumin because I didn't have it, although I believe it would be a good addition. I did add a few pinches of sea salt as it tastes a bit bland if you don't in my opinion. It has a good taste but is definitely not hot which is ok with me because the kids will eat it. My husband adds tobacco to his to add heat. I have made this when I was in a hurry and it is good but it definitely tastes better the longer you let it simmer. :) I would recommend giving it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Made a couple of modifications based on other reviews. We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States