Fancy Sammich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My tenderloin was one pound, so adjusted the cooking time. I took the suggestion from one of the reviewers and browned it in a skillet first; then sauteed some onions and apple slices . We loved the flavor that the onions and apple added to this and made the kitchen smell wonderful. Did not make the gravy. I was not making for company; but this would be something that would go over well for special occasions. Served with Red Cabbage Slaw from this site. Thanks for sharing, PAULASMITH for a tasty new meal to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I love this recipe! It's delicious. I did change a few things. Instead of cooking the tenderloin in the oven first, I browned it in a skillet for about 5-8 minutes. I also sauteed mushrooms and onion, then placed that on the puff pastry. Then I placed the tenderloin on the 'dressing', rolled up the pastry, and cooked in the oven for about 30-40 minutes. I really like the addition of the mushrooms and onion!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was a fantastic recipe! We served it to company and got rave reviews. I didn't have very much in the way of "drippings" so my gravy was a little tangy (I added a beef bullion cube so it had some meat flavor). I'm wondering if other cooks had trouble with the pastry sliding off the meat, or if that's normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMR
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I was really looking forward to this one. The ONLY thing I did to change the recipe was to add the juice of only half the lemon in fear it would be to overpowering. But still, my puff pastry came out soggy on the bottom and I don't know how I could have prevented that. Also, I make pork tenderloin all the time and my husband has always LOVED it, but he wasn't crazy about this one and neither was I. Great idea for a recipe, and it LOOKS fabulous when finished baking(I took and submitted pics), but I don't know if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This was not good at all! The juices from the pork made the pastry soggy. Too much lemon flavor in the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Way too salty for me... the pork came out nice and tender though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
This recipe was wonderful! I used a Asian sauce on the pork first then put the bread crumbs on and coverd the pork with foil for frist half of cooking time so it did not brown to fast.The idea of using bread crumbs is great thanks for tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
My kids loved it! The tenderlion melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This was rather tasty -- my husband really liked it. I used boneless pork chops rather than a tenderloin, and I should ahve stuck with the recipe on that one -- the pork was a bit dry, but that was my fault. i have never used pastry dough before, but we liked the results a lot! Next time, I'll use tenderloin for sure .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Excellent recipe. I would emphasize wrapping meat in pastry asap, and returning to oven to finish. Very easy process. Rather than a gravy, per se, I would prefer to call it a sauce for the meat (not suitable for other foods on the plate). A bit tart,it was more palatable by adding ordinary catsup, some veg. broth, to the quantity I wanted. I thickened it with 1 tsp cornstarch/1 tbsp water - was great, got raves. Will definitely serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States