Fancy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I cheated due to time contraints and used the frozen steam & mash, 1 plain & 1 garlic flavored. I also used 1 8 oz package cream cheese & milk to desired consistency & topped with cheese. Made mid morning & kept them cool by placing in cooler with a few frozen ice chillers. This dish was a BIG hit, my 13 yr old granddaughter said "these are the best potatoes you have EVER made". she was even making sandwiches with rolls and the potatoes. I had leftovers for next day dinner party, added a little water to dish and reheated in 200 degree oven, they never knew they were leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I felt 2 pkgs of cream cheese was too much for the quantity of potatoes.. maybe mine were smaller spuds. I mixed in the cheddar, used fat free sour cream, and reduced fat cream cheese, and lots more garlic.. also dalloped butter on top w/the rest of the cheddar - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Deeelicious! So simple yet so good. I loved that you used real whole potatoes, instead of frozen like all of the other potato casseroles. A bag of potatoes is far less expensive than frozen and healthier. The only alterations I did was instead or garlic salt, I added a packet of dry onion soup mix. I also did not totally mash it because I knew my husband would like it chunky with the skins still on. My husband was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
What's not to like in this recipe? Very yummy......... I made a variation tonight to make this a main dish. I cut the recipe in half and added three chopped green onions that I 'sauteed' with just about a 1/2 teaspoon of butter in the microwave. I chopped up 1/3 lb. of kielbasa and nuked that so I could drain the excess fat. Instead of mashing the potatoes I cubed them after boiling them. Cubing before boiling makes them absorb too much water. I've learned from the cooking shows to put the potatoes in the pan whole or cut in half, cover with water, and then put them on the heat. Bring to a boil and boil until done........ . . I threw it all together and baked for twenty minutes. Served this with green beans. Thanks for helping me make an easy, tasty dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I have made this twice. Both times everyone has loved it!! I used just 1 pack of cream cheese. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Never before had I made mashed potatoes without any butter. I was shocked to find that these didnt need it! Perfect, simple, easy, delicious, and anyone can make it... 5 star recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These were so yummy and creamy, i had to use what i had on hand and that was the neufchatel cheese and light sour cream and it still came out rich. Will add garlic next time.This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was awesome..... and guess what? They taste even better the next day. My boyfriend LOVED it sooooooo much that he asked me for these 3 days in a row. I just reheated in the microwave. GREAT SIDE!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Everyone loves these potatoes! But then whats not to love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I took the advice of several others and cut the cream cheese in half - these were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States