Fancy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I boiled 5 huge potatoes, Whipped them up with the cream cheese and sour cream. Then I mixed in the garlic powder and a bunch of green onions,and the cheddar cheese. Then baked - I don't know how long - I wanted the top crisp so the last 5 minutes I turned the oven up to 375. They were SO DELICIOUS !!! If you try these don't forget to add the green onions (or Chives) because it made a BIG difference.(Also 1 Pkg of cream cheese is plenty) These are Super Yummy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I loved the fancy potato recipe. I did change it up a bit. Used 1 8 oz. cream cheese instead of 2. Used 8 oz. Hidden Valley Ranch dressing instead of the sour cream. Used 2 cups of Kraft Montery Jack and Cheddar Cheese. It was already shredded which made it nice. I also used a little more than a pinch of garlic. Definately a keeper. Thanks for the great recipe Janet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is nothing out of the ordinary but is a good, basic, cheap mashed potato recipe to follow that I will make again. The only change I would make is to mix the cheddar cheese in before putting it in the oven instead of layering it on top. The cheese sticks together when you layer it on top and you end up eating big globs of cheese instead of having the cheese mix in with the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I thought these were fabulous and my 4 kids ALL raved about them. I only used one 8 oz. package of (light) cream cheese and I omitted the garlic salt. I used fat free sour cream also. Take it from someone who can spot fat free and reduced calorie a mile away.....You will never know the difference! Terrific recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Upon reading other reviews for this recipe, I also used only 1 package of cream cheese, which seems to work out so well. I also added a little milk to help with creaminess. I also used a different type of cheese blend on the top, and this worked great as well! All in all I say this recipe was fun, easy, and delicious to make. It turned out wonderful! The taste is exceptional for mashed potato lovers! A great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
These are simply wonderful. They are easy to do and taste like you did a great deal of work. I added bacon pieces on the top for texture and color and reduced the cream cheese by half. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Wonderful potato dish. I did not whip the potatoes, but cut them into small cubes, just personal preference. Added some garlic powder, minced onion, parsley and some cajun seasoning to spice it up. Was like a twice-baked potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I added ranch dip mix and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was a great change from mashed potatoes. I did make some minor changes though. Instead of cheese I use a bread crumb mixture for the topping. Also, I used half the amount of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
An interesting take on mashed potatoes! I liked the fact that there was absolutely no butter in the recipe, which always made me think twice about reaching for a second helping. I used light cream cheese and light sour cream and it still tasted just as rich (I still thought about that second helping!) My husband doubled the recipe but only used 2 1/2 pkgs of the cream cheese, instead of 4. He really enjoyed this! I only gave it 4 stars because I think it's best enjoyed "day of" rather than leftovers. We'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States