Fancy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Yummy! Very rich (heart attack in a bowl, really!) but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
i have made this twice. First time like the recipe except cut back on cream cheese was good. Second time I add package of dry ranch mix and 1/2 stick of butter to potato mix. Then on top of cheese i add green onions and bacon (chop).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was ok but it was nothing special. Make sure that the potato is fully cooked before you stop boiling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyofshallot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was a great change from mashed potatoes. I did make some minor changes though. Instead of cheese I use a bread crumb mixture for the topping. Also, I used half the amount of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I make this recipe using seasoned frozen hash browns instead. Saves alot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is nothing out of the ordinary but is a good, basic, cheap mashed potato recipe to follow that I will make again. The only change I would make is to mix the cheddar cheese in before putting it in the oven instead of layering it on top. The cheese sticks together when you layer it on top and you end up eating big globs of cheese instead of having the cheese mix in with the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
As suggested I only used 1 pkg. of cream cheese and this was still quite rich. We really prefer the twice-baked potatoes to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Awesome!! Great for special occasions. I've doubled the recipe twice for large groups and it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Simply delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I thought these were good, but definitely not something I would make all of the time. They are so rich and way too fattening for my blood!! I did add bacon bits, used real minced garlic as opposed to the garlic salt and then threw in some salt and pepper to taste. I also used HALF of the cream cheese called for, and fat free cream cheese AND sour cream - just to take away some of the guilt! I chose to mash these instead of whip and if making again, I would stir the cheese into the potato mixture instead of sprinkling it on top, and just bake it for less time. I found the cheese "crust" distracting as it pulled away from the spuds with every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States