Fancy-But-Easy Mac N' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I've made this multiple times for parties. I still use the brown sugar, but I cut it in half.. To counter the sweetness of the brown sugar, I add bacon. That sweet/salty combo adds a lot to the dish, I think!! I found that the pre-cooked bacon is best, it's less greasy and heats up nicely in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had this at a party a few years ago and love love loved it! Its always a big hit when I make it. Now we make a meal of it by adding ham to it and some bread crumbs on top. OMG! SOOOO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This DELICIOUS! My mom and I recreated this without sugar, plus we added some bacon. Overall, I give it a five stars. My whole family loved it and we definitely plan on having this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Didn't care for this recipe at all, not to mention the fact it was expensive to make with all the cheese in it. Wouldn't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was probably one of the best mac n cheese base recipes my family has ever tried. Yes, I made a couple of changes but that was to personal likes (no onion, no brown sugar, added chicken bites that had been sauteed in olive oil and crushed garlic). As a whole - it was creamy, filling, and tasted wonderful! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
It was way too sweet. If you plan on making this, leave the brown sugar out or greatly reduce it. No one in the family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've made this for a number of BBQ events. To say it's a favorite among my colleagues would be an understatement. I showed up with a fresh batch at the 4th of July BBQ and word spread through the party like wildfire. The entire pan was empty in under 10 min. Now I'm "not allowed to come to BBQs without bringing this." I'm buying a bigger pan so I can make double batches. Muenster can be used in place of Havarti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I have definitely had better mac n cheese. This tasted ok but the color seemed off. Very dull...I've seen mac n cheese that was a nice yelow color. Easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I did not care for the brown sugar in this dish. I'd never serve this at any kind of party or event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kailyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States